Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Revo 3.3

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2013, 09:01 AM
Tech Rookie

Unhappy Revo 3.3

I am NEW to Nitro RC I just got my Revo 3.3, I went through all of the break in procedures to a T that were outlined by Traxxas and on my 6th tank I broke the connecting rod. Is this a typical issue or could I have done something wrong?
Old 03-19-2013, 09:22 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Those engines are pretty tough. Chances are you didn't warm it up enough prior to starting the engine. In the beginning the pinch on the sleeves is very tight and can stress the Conrod. You'll need to get a new conrod of course and then continue the break in procedure. Maybe give it a 1/8 turn to the left to thin out the hsn prior to starting it up, that should help alleviate some of the pressure from the fuel to air mixture that was putting extra stress on the conrod during break in.
Old 03-19-2013, 09:49 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

I made my son go through 10 tanks before leaning out on his new 3.3. Is it cold there? That will affect breakin length. Personally I would slap another rod in it and finish breakin properly. I checked, yeah it's cold there. Cold weather you should richen the engine.
Temperature: 44 °F
Comfort Level: 42 °F
Dew point: 38 °F
Pressure: 29.87 "Hg
Humidity: 79%
Visibility: 10 mi
Wind: 5 mph from 0° NorthDirection South
Last update: Tue 11:54 AM EDT
Old 03-19-2013, 10:43 AM
Tech Rookie

lol yeah its a little cold here but I wrapped the head in foil like traxxas suggested and the temp after warm up was around 250
Old 03-19-2013, 10:49 AM
Tech Rookie

Questions??

Originally Posted by jwm2