Community
Wiki Posts
Search

newbie LiPo question

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2012, 01:35 PM
Tech Rookie

Default newbie LiPo question

Hey all, I am fairly new to Hobby Grade RC vehicles. What a fantastic change from the toy store crap I fiddled with before.

I am currently running the basic 2wd brushed Stampede with a couple of minor changes (19/90 gears changed to 16/86 and I added the wheelie bar and rpm front bumper). I am absolute back yard/bmx track basher, with no intention of racing. I was thinking of going to LiPo for the extended run time and the slight edge in performance. However, I am not sure I fully understand the advantage. My current NiMH battery is fully charged @ ~9.45 volts. I play with it until the Titan 12T can't push it around anymore, and the battery is at ~8.4 volts. Now, as I understand it, the XL-5 ESC can handle 2s LiPo only. So, that means with my current setup I am going to be starting @ 8.4 volts and running to ~ 7.2 volts. Am I going to see a severe decrease in performance? Or is it more about the available Amps than the volts?
Old 07-16-2012, 02:16 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)

You will see a drop in speed but you will have longer and more consistent run times. Lipos have a higher threshold for capacity than nimh and have less voltage droop as the pack discharges.

While the XL-5 can only do 2s the next upgrade to brushless will see that performance back, longer run times again, and you can get a esc that handles 3s.

I run 2s in my stampede and its pretty nuts with a 5700kv motor, I can only guess what 3s would be like. Welcome to the hobby!
Old 07-16-2012, 02:59 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)