Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
my NiMH drains fast! >

my NiMH drains fast!

my NiMH drains fast!

Reply

Old 08-27-2010, 03:25 PM
  #16  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

its red. if i remember correctly that means it off. and ima get new battery pack.
Brenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 03:31 PM
  #17  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

i just got a new charger too. its the mystery b6. its from China and i wasn't paying attention when i got it. there's a voltage option. I'm not sure but i put it on 1.2 because its 8.4 and there's 7 cells. butwhen i charged the battery, it charged up to 40 mins and kept going. is that safe?
Brenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 05:00 PM
  #18  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

As long as the battery is not getting too hot to hold, it should be OK. Its hard to tell what you're doing with it as far as the charge. Charger prob has an auto option for NiMh and that may take a while since it varies the charge current versus a manual charge at a user input current.

These chargers usually have a user setup mode that will let you set a capacity cutoff, you might try setting that at your pack capacity - that should terminate charge if the NiMh peak detection doesn't terminate for whatever reason.
Duster_360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 07:04 PM
  #19  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

ive decided to go lipo. the nimh batterys arent much cheaper than these lipo so why not? ive been looking forever and the only ones ive seen that fit are the max amps but they want too much. i found this and i was wondering if anyone has used them before? http://www.spcracing.com/index.php?productID=91 let me know cuz i want to order my battery monday.
Brenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 09:46 PM
  #20  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,061
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Good batteries but about three times more than you need to spend.

www.hobbyking.com Do it!
Timbulb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 05:26 AM
  #22  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

i saw those but 2s. i really want to go fast. hehe. so i want to get 3s. but the thing about the turiny 3s, they are wide as hell! i need 45mm and those are all 50mm. wth!!!
Brenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 06:05 AM
  #23  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,061
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The VXL can't handle 3s. If you want speed get the 8.5 combo from Hobbyking, it can handle a 3s. I use it in my B4, it's now a dragster because it's waaaay too fast for any track.
Timbulb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 07:08 AM
  #24  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

what do you mean by it wont handle 3s? i thought it could. ive seen people run 3s on it before.
Brenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 07:23 AM
  #25  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Originally Posted by Brenda View Post
ive decided to go lipo. the nimh batterys arent much cheaper than these lipo so why not? ive been looking forever and the only ones ive seen that fit are the max amps but they want too much. i found this and i was wondering if anyone has used them before? spcracing.com/index.php?productID=91 let me know cuz i want to order my battery monday.
The SPC pack is awesome, plus it includes a real connector and a warranty. Unless you are only going to buy multiple packs, the SPC price is very close to the HKs once you figure in shipping and a connector.

Yes, the VXL system can handle 3S lipo.
HugYourRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:12 AM
  #26  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,061
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes it can, my mistake.
Timbulb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 10:21 AM
  #27  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

thats what i figured, i was like i swore i remember this kid having 3s on his vxl. and if it wouldnt handle it i'd be fine. i have a gtb and a 4.5 sitting at home. and i ordered the spc battery already. came out to about 70 dollars. not bad.
Brenda is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 07:31 PM
  #28  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default



oops haha

cant see it but i broke off both the front and right wheel off. gonna look at it tomorrow
Brenda is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service