Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
new into rc, will get rc10t4: help with electronics etc >

new into rc, will get rc10t4: help with electronics etc

new into rc, will get rc10t4: help with electronics etc

Old 03-07-2009, 12:44 PM
Tech Rookie

Default new into rc, will get rc10t4: help with electronics etc

Hi everyone, im new to the hobby and decided to buy an rc10t4. I simply have no idea however which motor/ESC/battery pack to buy. I want the truck to be reasonably fast, but still ok for a rookie. anyone have any recommendations?

i really appreciate the help guys
Old 03-07-2009, 12:54 PM
Tech Elite

Bashing or racing? If you'er racing, you'll want to put in some competitive electronics. If you'er bashing, you can put just about anything you want in it.
Old 03-07-2009, 01:12 PM
Tech Rookie

hi! and thanks for the response

initially bashing, but I will start racing soon afterwards (looking for a club or track near me) ... is there anything I should know about which esc work with which motors? what kind of motor should I get? and what would you recommend for a battery for starting out? I could upgrade battery for racing later, but would like to have something reasonably good initially.
Old 03-07-2009, 01:26 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

if you're racing i hope your track runs truck on a reg basis. i would suggest a buggy either kyosho,associated or losi. that way you know you're gonna be able to race. if you're gonna bash the truck is cool so is the sc10 if you can find one

for racing: speed control lrp sphere comp or the new sxx when lrp releases it.

motor for the truck the novak 7.5 light and 18 tooth pinion gear

servo jr 9100s

battery smc 5200 24c lipo

radio m11 hopefully you can get one without the airtronics 2.4 and get the spektrum pro system its 100$ now

power supply pyramid psv 200

turnigy lipo charger

for bashing: novak gtb 7.5 combo (motor/ esc)

any servo with metal gears