Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Racers: Where do you "look" when driving? >

Racers: Where do you "look" when driving?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Racers: Where do you "look" when driving?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2006, 01:05 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default Racers: Where do you "look" when driving?

Quick background: I traded my gaming PC for an Associated TC3 (yeah, it's old, but I'm a noob so I don't know any better, call it a Training Car) a ton of spares, radio, three motors, ESC, and batteries about six months ago. Goofed around with it (build/teardown/rebuild) for a few months, and then decided that I really wanted to get into racing.

So, I've been practicing for the past six weeks at the local track (SRS in Scottsdale, Arizona) and learning quite a bit about bodies, suspension tuning and weight distribution, electronics, etc. etc. etc. But it seems that no matter what I do, I'm always crashing and breaking. I mean, a LOT. Always the front end. Front arms. Front “C” hubs. Front steering blocks. Long ball end screws. 440x11/23 screws. Front inner hinge pins. I know the part numbers by heart. I buy the LHSs out and re-order in advance, but I still have to order online just to keep up. It’s not uncommon for me to break FIVE TIMES while trying to get through a single practice session. It’s getting monotonous.