Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Using E flite power meter to set timing >

Using E flite power meter to set timing

Using E flite power meter to set timing

Old 08-01-2017, 12:03 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
jasburrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: GR MI
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Using E flite power meter to set timing

Just got back into racing after airplane hiatus. I just used this meter to adjust the timing.killshot 17.5 high rpm 2s no pinnion wot pulling 5.9 amps. Timing is now set about 57. Am I doing it right? Huge thanks. Any advice would be great.
Attached Thumbnails Using E flite power meter to set timing-img_0720.jpg   Using E flite power meter to set timing-image.jpg  
jasburrito is offline  
Old 08-01-2017, 04:53 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (140)
 
RC Juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rocklin, CA
Posts: 1,759
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Going by the amps on an unloaded motor is not reliable. The best way to set up a motor is with a motor analyzer which lets you see the KV, timing etc. and you can dial in can timing to tweak those numbers. I'm a plane guy as well and use a watt-meter like you picture often when setting up a plane, but on a plane we have the prop to provide the load so it's a little easier.
RC Juice is offline  
Old 08-01-2017, 08:28 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
jasburrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: GR MI
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

got a chance to go to clay indoor track tonight. Geared it with 28/72 was coming off around 160 in about8 minutes. Sounded kinda rippy. I must be in the ball park. It was pulling around 4 amps factory timing. Thanks
jasburrito is offline  
Old 08-02-2017, 04:50 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (140)
 
RC Juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Rocklin, CA
Posts: 1,759
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

If you are maintaining that temp then yes, that definitely sounds like it's close. What's the can-timing set at? Blinky-mode on your ESC?
RC Juice is offline  
Old 08-04-2017, 07:21 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
jasburrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: GR MI
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The can timing is 57. HW just stock. Thanks.
jasburrito is offline  
Old 08-14-2017, 07:07 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
jasburrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: GR MI
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Ended up gearing the the revtech 26/72 B6d. Total gearing about 6.9 ish. Added fan and temps were 120. So today I got a trinity d4 1s short stack. Timing on motor was about 50. It was drawing 4.6. I bumped the timing up to 53 on end bell. Now drawing 5.7. Gonna gear it 27/69 in 22 3.0. Total gear will be 6.6 ish. But whatever.
jasburrito is offline  
Old 08-17-2017, 07:01 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
jasburrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: GR MI
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Tuned a few motors last night for group of friends. One motor was running reverse rotation. We could only turn the timing 20 degrees negative. Which only pulled 2.4. We added timing to esc till we got it dialed in to 6. Is that ok too? Thanks. https://youtu.be/CB2fWACk2ZE update he called to thank me. And said it was making gobs of power and running cool. But whatever. Thanks.

Last edited by jasburrito; 08-18-2017 at 08:01 AM.
jasburrito is offline  
Old 08-18-2017, 10:08 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
jasburrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: GR MI
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Today I tuned a d3.5 17.5. I could not get it above 1.6a I added timing on the esc. It spiked up to 10a. Then I dialed back the can timing. It's at 6.3a but whatever. Maybe this info can help others. Cheers
jasburrito is offline  
Old 09-17-2017, 07:13 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
jasburrito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: GR MI
Posts: 417
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Making amains and not crashing in 5 minutes. Noticed more than a few guys cars that are not a little faster. But way faster. Gonna try bumping the timing up to 8 amps and move up to 15 and listen/watch meter to kinda find my sweet spot. Was gonna leave screws not tight and turn endbell while its running.�� Is that a bad idea? Any tips would be great. Thanks
jasburrito is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.