Search
Like Tree11Likes

Suck at soldering

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2017, 08:19 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Suck at soldering

Yes, did I ruin my stuff already? I'm such a noob and that post was so tiny on the ESC. Goodness, I read the tutorial about soldering and tried to practice. Surely, you guys must have some tips to make it fit in that tiny post.

I hope I did not ruin it. Help.
Attached Thumbnails Suck at soldering-img_0660.jpg   Suck at soldering-img_0659.jpg  
Old 03-22-2017, 08:34 PM
Tech Regular

I'm no pro, but I would tin the wires then squeeze them so they are narrow enough to fit in the U in the post. I tried pliers, but like to use a vise. If you have too much solder you can get desoldering braid to remove the excess.
papogator24 likes this.
Old 03-22-2017, 08:40 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)

Make sure you are using a quality soldering iron as well. A lot of the low wattage general purpose irons don't get hot enough to get a quality joint.
papogator24 likes this.
Old 03-22-2017, 08:46 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)

Also take some time to look at this thread...

http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...ef-lesson.html

Then you will be in business
papogator24 likes this.
Old 03-22-2017, 08:50 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I wouldn't even say you necessarily need a quality iron - you need an iron that's hot enough and also can transfer enough heat to the item to be soldered quickly enough, without it cooling down.

I use a 60W Goot iron (way less than $20) and it makes soldering a breeze - 1x goot KS-60R 60W/220V , Soldering Iron 60W
As a comparison, I also have a Hakko 936 soldering station with a wide tip (when trying to solder motor wires) and it's much harder to do so on the 936 than it is on my Goot.
Why? The 936 doesn't have enough heat stored in the iron tip.
rgrg2 likes this.
Old 03-23-2017, 02:59 AM
Tech Apprentice

Originally Posted by EbbTide