Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Tekin Pro4 4600KV problems.. >

Tekin Pro4 4600KV problems..

Tekin Pro4 4600KV problems..

Old 03-26-2016, 07:36 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Tekin Pro4 4600KV problems..

I run a Tekin Pro4 4600KV, with a RX8 Gen2, 14t pinion, in a Tekno SCT410.3 short course truck.

When I turn the ESC on, it powers up, and then beeps again that it is armed and ready to go.

When I try to hit the gas and go. The motor makes a squealing noise, and sounds as if it is binded up. The motor cannot even turn my wheels, the motor shaft rotates freely by hand without any strange noises, or grinding.

It is heating up very quickly! Loud squealing noise, and it can't spin, just shakes back and forward like its trying to.

And it does rotate smoothly by hand.

I disassembled it, cleaned bearing, and dust, dirt etc. Etc. Everything looks normal. I removed the rotor, it looks really good. But I'm no expert. One of the bearings wouldn't spin so I disassembled it and oiled it now it's spinning OK, although this motor is really messed up.

Any ideas? I'd like to try and rebuild it. I bought this motor used so im not sure how much run time it has had.

I received it in well used condition, then I ran about 40 or 50 or even 60 or more packs through it. Never been over 110F or 115F temps, well since I've had it atleast lol.

If it's to expensive to fix, I may just pick up another exactly like it but new.

Last edited by tps3443; 03-26-2016 at 08:16 PM.
Old 03-26-2016, 08:25 PM
Tech Master

Try re-calibration of ESC. Endplay of rotor excessive. If you disassemble motor, did you install any shims that came out.

I ESC heats up quickly, I probably needs calibration.
Old 03-26-2016, 08:35 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)

Are your motor to esc leads connected properly, the correct order?
Old 03-26-2016, 08:55 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

you have your wires reversed...