Radio Question.

Old 01-27-2015, 03:20 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
duh7ho2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 25
Default Radio Question.

Hello everyone I have a losi 8ight truggy and I'm looking for a radio that is decent and reliable.
My question is do I need a 350 dollar radio for one car? I don't plan on getting another car in the near future.
I dont need telemetry or anything. I basically want to take it to the track here in Vegas an race it.
Thanks
duh7ho2 is offline  
Old 01-28-2015, 09:10 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,161
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

You don't need the top of the line but decent and reliable means you should at least look at the middle of the line like the Futaba 4PLS or Aitronics MT4. Those are both under $350 and will do anything and everything you could ever really want a radio to do.
MarkA is offline  
Old 01-28-2015, 12:11 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Mudcat981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hanford, Ca
Posts: 803
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MarkA View Post
You don't need the top of the line but decent and reliable means you should at least look at the middle of the line like the Futaba 4PLS or Aitronics MT4. Those are both under $350 and will do anything and everything you could ever really want a radio to do.
+1
Mudcat981 is offline  
Old 01-28-2015, 02:38 PM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
duh7ho2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 25
Default

Those are nice. Is spektrum not a a good brand?
duh7ho2 is offline  
Old 01-28-2015, 02:56 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Yosh70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sask. Canada
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by duh7ho2 View Post
Those are nice. Is spektrum not a a good brand?


Let the games begin....
Yosh70 is offline  
Old 01-28-2015, 03:02 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,334
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Find a good deal on a used mt4s and you're good to go.
wingracer is offline  
Old 01-28-2015, 10:33 PM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
duh7ho2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 25
Default

Ok will do.
duh7ho2 is offline  
Old 01-29-2015, 05:32 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,131
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by duh7ho2 View Post
Those are nice. Is spektrum not a a good brand?
I use it without issue, at some point it is too expensive to get a pile of receivers to do a migration to another brand in my opinion. Only problems I ever had were fixed when I quit trying to use NiMH batteries, now I run NiZN.

One gripe though.. with lipo market being so reasonable these days why not build them so they either accept a pack as a drop in or charge the extra $10 and bundle it.
lbenton is offline  
Old 01-29-2015, 12:34 PM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
duh7ho2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 25
Default

Ya I picked up the airtronics mt4.
Thanks for the suggestions.
duh7ho2 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.