Cheap Transponders!!!

Closed Thread

Old 01-19-2015, 11:33 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (65)
 
skater-deez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mechanicsburg,Pa
Posts: 1,773
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Thumbs up Cheap Transponders!!!

Ok well not really super cheap but figured I'd get people to look if I put that. Anyways I've been using a MRT (ns) transponder and it's great. Works on amb2, amb3, and Mylaps rc4. Considering how cheap I got it for from Stormer(less than $90), it seems a little silly that people are paying big money for used hybrid amb transponders. Anyone else using these? I started looking when I noticed Marc Rheinard used one at the worlds which was no doubt an rc4 timing set up. Seriously wouldn't you rather have a new one than used anyways???
skater-deez1 is offline  
Old 01-19-2015, 03:16 PM
  #2  
Suspended
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,450
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

that's not that much lower. I paid $112 for the mylaps on ebay from go nitro hobbies.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/MYLAPS-RC4-H...item54075acb30
mtpocketsracing is offline  
Old 01-19-2015, 03:34 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
Shawn_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Emerald Coast
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

RC4's are only $89 minus applicable coupons. Much rather have the Mylaps, new or used. Its not like these things ever go bad, and the high resale value means that if the time came, I too would get my money out of them.
Shawn_S is offline  
Old 01-19-2015, 03:36 PM
  #4  
Suspended
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,450
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Shawn_S View Post
RC4's are only $89 minus applicable coupons. Much rather have the Mylaps, new or used. Its not like these things ever go bad, and the high resale value means that if the time came, I too would get my money out of them.
the 3 wire are $89 the 2 wire are $110-125 typically. the 3 wire only works on the new rc4 systems. the 2 wire works on all of the old systems and the new system
mtpocketsracing is offline  
Old 01-20-2015, 03:19 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (65)
 
skater-deez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mechanicsburg,Pa
Posts: 1,773
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Exclamation

Not much lower huh? $87 shipped compared to $115.........If you have the money to waste cool. As for me I'd rather use the left over money for parts! And yeah the rc4 is only like $90......but if you go to a track using rc3 you are S.O.L! My local tracks use both so it was either a hybrid or one of these and honestly they're smaller and nicer than the mylaps IMHO.
skater-deez1 is offline  
Old 01-20-2015, 03:34 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (65)
 
skater-deez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mechanicsburg,Pa
Posts: 1,773
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Talking

The basic idea I was trying to convey was for what most guys are paying for used hybrids here on this site you can get new. Didn't mean for people to get butt hurt about it, just letting people know there is an alternative to the amb. I have seen some go for $70-95 on here....but again that's used. And honestly if they are good enough for full factory racers then they're probably good enough for 99% of us.
skater-deez1 is offline  
Old 01-20-2015, 04:17 AM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 50
Default

Originally Posted by skater-deez1 View Post
The basic idea I was trying to convey was for what most guys are paying for used hybrids here on this site you can get new. Didn't mean for people to get butt hurt about it, just letting people know there is an alternative to the amb. I have seen some go for $70-95 on here....but again that's used. And honestly if they are good enough for full factory racers then they're probably good enough for 99% of us.
So the MRT does indeed work for all the rc systems? I know I have a track local that still runs the old system. Another one uses the new system.
Ahaynes is offline  
Old 01-20-2015, 04:24 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (65)
 
skater-deez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mechanicsburg,Pa
Posts: 1,773
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Ahaynes View Post
So the MRT does indeed work for all the rc systems? I know I have a track local that still runs the old system. Another one uses the new system.
Yep the old mrt did not but the mrt (ns) "new system" works with rc2, rc3, and mylaps rc4. If you race a few different tracks it's way worth it to pick one up.
skater-deez1 is offline  
Old 01-20-2015, 09:11 AM
  #9  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,029
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Old news really..

http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...pt-news-5.html
racer1812 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service