Can I fix this ESC?

Old 11-13-2014, 08:35 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Bansh88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Can I fix this ESC?

Took the SC10 out to the dunes this weekend. Hard jump crash sent the ESC flying off the velcro tape (whole other issue).
The plug wire ripped right out of the case. I removed the 4 small screws to attempt to uncase and check it out but it didnt easily separate. So before I started prying, I figured I'd ask the pro's.

OR is this somehting I can ship to Associated and they'd fix for a nominal fee? Hows their customer service on this kinda stuff?

This is just a basher truck so I'm not looking to upgrade if I dont have to.



Bansh88 is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 08:49 AM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,605
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

It is fixable if you have the small scale soldering abilities to do it. If not, ask around the local shop/track. Someone is bound to be able to do it for not much money.
wingracer is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 09:03 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Bansh88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I have a good soldering setup and I'm not too bad. Did a couple years soldering circuit boards.
Just decase and solder broken wire back on? I've never opened an ESC
Bansh88 is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 09:19 AM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,605
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Some esc's have the wires surface mounted in which case it's a pretty easy job with the right iron and a steady hand. Others are through mounted (wire going through holes in the board) which is a bit trickier. You will need some sort of de-soldering device (sucker or braid) to clear out the holes before inserting the wires.
wingracer is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 09:23 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Bansh88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

copy that. I have a solder sucker and wick.

So......I pull the 4 screws and the case should separate?
Bansh88 is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 09:25 AM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,605
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Probably but I've never had that particular esc. There could be a mini hamster running a wheel for all I know. If so, don't let him escape
wingracer is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 09:51 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Bansh88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

hahahahaa..

I was able to find a Youtube of a Mamba Max being taken apart.
Bansh88 is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 10:26 AM
  #8  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (31)
 
racer1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: RIP 'Chopper', 4/18/13 miss you bud:(
Posts: 15,362
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Probably but I've never had that particular esc. There could be a mini hamster running a wheel for all I know. If so, don't let him escape
racer1812 is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 10:37 AM
  #9  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,605
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

If you do screw up and let the smoke out, that can be fixed too:

http://www3.telus.net/bc_triumph_registry/smoke.htm
wingracer is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 10:56 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Id rip it apart. They go for about $50 new on ebay, so its cheap to replace.
Hoese37 is offline  
Old 11-13-2014, 05:15 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
GerryH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 854
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

The other thing that's really helpful is a stationary magnifier. I had to make a similar repair on my ESC and even with a small tip, it was hard to be precise. But then I grabbed my magnifier lamp and it was fairly easy.
GerryH is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 11:28 AM
  #12  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (12)
 
Bansh88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Update:

I removed the top cover...
The ESC was potted/filled with epoxy. Clear epoxy.
The only thing I could do was attempt to strip the couple milimeters of wire that was exposed. I used an exacto knife to slash away a but to expose some wire.
I stripped and tinned the long wires and left some sxtra solder on them. I was able to spread the tiny wires away from each other just enoguh to not have them touch. And just went for it!
Plugged it in and it worked! I globbed on some liquid electrical tape to protect and keep them away from each other.

Of course, 3 minutes into my victory drive, I stripped out something in the tranny!
Bansh88 is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 03:34 PM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,605
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Didn't know they potted those things. I guess they were determined to not let that hamster escape. Glad you got it working though.
wingracer is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.