Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Why is one ESC better than another?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2014, 07:42 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Why is one ESC better than another?

I am fairly new to electric racing, (1/10 off road) and am wanting to learn more about the electronics. Who can explain what makes an ESC good or bad, and what is say the difference between a Viper brand, and the higher dollar Team Orion options...Is the higher dollar brand, going to make you go faster? And how so?

Thanks.
Old 11-10-2014, 07:50 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

For one the software that controls the motor is a big factor, this would be the ESC firmware and has an impact on motor acceleration and braking.

Another is the quality and type of switching FETS used in the ESC, some have higher current rating FETS with low internal resistance than others.
Old 11-10-2014, 07:57 PM
Tech Apprentice

Originally Posted by B16A2
For one the software that controls the motor is a big factor, this would be the ESC firmware and has an impact on motor acceleration and braking.

Another is the quality and type of switching FETS used in the ESC, some have higher current rating FETS with low internal resistance than others.
Thanks...
your first point...Meaning the throttle,braking etc is smoother? Easier to drive?

Your second point was like a foreign language to me...I didn't understand a thing you said about that.
Old 11-10-2014, 08:07 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

for the first parts yes as well as in booted applications the rate of acceleration, plus features in the ESC such as boost delay etc. All of it has to do with power delivery when you want it.