Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Problem with various AE ESC's and Lipo cutoff. >

Problem with various AE ESC's and Lipo cutoff.

Problem with various AE ESC's and Lipo cutoff.

Old 05-03-2014, 06:16 PM
Tech Adept

Default Problem with various AE ESC's and Lipo cutoff.

In a nutshell it either doesn't work or isn't reliable. Twice today I had packs where the voltage had fallen below 10v on 3 cell, one at 6V!!!!!!!! and the ESC never shutdown. If I didn't have good cells it would have ruined my packs or caused a fire. 1 of my cells was at 2.5!!!!! I had a balance buzzer on that beeps when the cells get low but it fell off and I didn't realize it and kept driving.

Has anyone else had this problem? The ESC's in question are the 500 and 700 Associated brushless ones. I'm new to Lipo and am still learning in some ways.
Old 05-03-2014, 06:55 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Are you sure they are in lipo mode? Always check to make sure they are. That being said the AE XP500/XP700 are very horribly made ESCs.
Old 05-03-2014, 07:09 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

First of all, green led on the ESC is on, correct? Second, if you bothered to read the manual, both ESC's have a 3V cut off (which is too low IMO) which is setup when you choose lipo mode.

So a 3S will cutoff @ 9V, a 2S @ 6V. If you installed this "balance buzzer" (low voltage alarm?) and it fell off, how is that the ESC's fault? And at what voltage is it supposed to go off? And if one lipo's cell dropped to 2.5V and the other(s) is 3V or above, then that pack is obviously not in good shape.
Old 05-03-2014, 07:43 PM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by Yosh70
If you installed this "balance buzzer" (low voltage alarm?) and it fell off, how is that the ESC's fault? And at what voltage is it supposed to go off?