Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
tekin pro 4 4600 compared to the 4300HD >

tekin pro 4 4600 compared to the 4300HD

tekin pro 4 4600 compared to the 4300HD

Reply

Old 04-20-2014, 06:21 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: chester ny
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default tekin pro 4 4600 compared to the 4300HD

how does the 4300hd compare to the 4600?racing on a med large tenth scale track.looking for smooth power.the 4600 is already too much to use full throttle .losi scte
auto2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 06:43 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
fredmotokx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quebec
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by auto2 View Post
.the 4600 is already too much to use full throttle .losi scte
Then you do not need the Pro 4 HD 4300.
fredmotokx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 06:46 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,667
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fredmotokx View Post
Then you do not need the Pro 4 HD 4300.
Agree
jmackani is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 06:52 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
egobrkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,911
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

If the 4600kv pro4 is too much then drop down to the 4000kv pro4
egobrkr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 07:44 AM
  #5  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: chester ny
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

agreed but how do the 2 motor compare? the 4300 will have less top speed with the same gearing. will the 4300 have a more explosive power band? or feel smoother just with more total power?
auto2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 08:21 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,886
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

To me , I felt like a 4600 with a 14t pinion was more linear and easier to drive then my 4300 with a 17t. That being said , I run the 4300 with a 15t and the punch turned down most of the time and end point set at 85%. I think the esc and radio can smooth things out more then just the motor .
wittyname is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 08:41 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: chester ny
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks! im thinking i need a new motor cause its 2 seasons old and last night i heard it humm but didnt spin until i moved the throttle a few times and then for the start of the race it just sat there for 5 seconds before it moved. glitch? radio? sensor wire?motor? whatever . seems like a good excuse to get a new motor and see if this problem goes away.
another friend mentioned he didnt really like the HD motor. said it felt flat after it let loose too much power. i may just try a 4000 and see.
auto2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:40 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The 4300 is too big and torquey. You have to go up 2 teeth on the pinion in general to get the same top end as the 4600. There's no need for the huge low end of the HD considering the regular pro 4 needs a bit of taming also.
Hoese37 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 10:41 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by auto2 View Post
ok thanks! im thinking i need a new motor cause its 2 seasons old and last night i heard it humm but didnt spin until i moved the throttle a few times and then for the start of the race it just sat there for 5 seconds before it moved. glitch? radio? sensor wire?motor? whatever . seems like a good excuse to get a new motor and see if this problem goes away.
another friend mentioned he didnt really like the HD motor. said it felt flat after it let loose too much power. i may just try a 4000 and see.
Sounds as if you need either a new sensor wire or sensor board.
Hoese37 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 06:26 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 53
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Questions?? gearing

Originally Posted by wittyname View Post
To me , I felt like a 4600 with a 14t pinion was more linear and easier to drive then my 4300 with a 17t. That being said , I run the 4300 with a 15t and the punch turned down most of the time and end point set at 85%. I think the esc and radio can smooth things out more then just the motor .
I put the rx8 gen 2 and pro4 hd 4300 in a built traxxas slash. You say 17T but what spur are you using, right now i have 14/54 it seams like i could go more???
Akrider174 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 07:44 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,644
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Where the 4300hd outshines the 4600 is coming out of corners into jumps with little run up . The extra torque of the 4300hd will get you over easier , and to me the 4300hd feels smoother . Also if you are running a heavier truck like the Tekno SCT410 or the Durango SC10 the 4300hd will run cooler than the 4600 .
BashemSmashem is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 10:24 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (497)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 4,921
Trader Rating: 497 (100%+)
Default

I run a couple of different trucks. My spare has a Hobbywing 3400 geared with a 19T pinion [Tekno SCT410.3]. Its actually plenty fast and manageable. I recently discovered that I run faster with the spare than the blinged out race truck that has a 4000KV. I think most of us have been over-motoring our trucks.
QDRHRSE is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service