R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2014, 07:21 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: chester ny
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default tekin pro 4 4600 compared to the 4300HD

how does the 4300hd compare to the 4600?racing on a med large tenth scale track.looking for smooth power.the 4600 is already too much to use full throttle .losi scte
auto2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 07:43 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
fredmotokx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quebec
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by auto2 View Post
.the 4600 is already too much to use full throttle .losi scte
Then you do not need the Pro 4 HD 4300.
__________________
TLR SCTE 2.0
Team associated B5
fredmotokx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 07:46 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,626
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredmotokx View Post
Then you do not need the Pro 4 HD 4300.
Agree
__________________
LCRC Raceway http://www.lostcreekcycles.com/lcrc.htm
Proline Racing http:://www.prolineracing.com
jmackani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 07:52 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
egobrkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,863
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

If the 4600kv pro4 is too much then drop down to the 4000kv pro4
__________________
Mugen MBX7R Triton L5 Picco 2120 pipe M2C clutch
Mugen MBX7T Triton L5 Triton 2120 pipe M2C clutch
Mugen MBX7R Eco Tekin RX8 Gen2 Tekin 2050kv
youtube.com/user/egobrkr
Thanks to my sponsors Mugen Seiki and Radiopost
egobrkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 08:44 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: chester ny
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

agreed but how do the 2 motor compare? the 4300 will have less top speed with the same gearing. will the 4300 have a more explosive power band? or feel smoother just with more total power?
auto2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 09:21 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,886
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

To me , I felt like a 4600 with a 14t pinion was more linear and easier to drive then my 4300 with a 17t. That being said , I run the 4300 with a 15t and the punch turned down most of the time and end point set at 85%. I think the esc and radio can smooth things out more then just the motor .
__________________
Josh W.

Don't forget ... Have fun , talk sh*$ with your buddies, and have fun.

I race so I can have people flip my car over ....
wittyname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 09:41 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: chester ny
Posts: 662
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks! im thinking i need a new motor cause its 2 seasons old and last night i heard it humm but didnt spin until i moved the throttle a few times and then for the start of the race it just sat there for 5 seconds before it moved. glitch? radio? sensor wire?motor? whatever . seems like a good excuse to get a new motor and see if this problem goes away.
another friend mentioned he didnt really like the HD motor. said it felt flat after it let loose too much power. i may just try a 4000 and see.
auto2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 11:40 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The 4300 is too big and torquey. You have to go up 2 teeth on the pinion in general to get the same top end as the 4600. There's no need for the huge low end of the HD considering the regular pro 4 needs a bit of taming also.
__________________
Tekno R/C
FTR 510 Raceway
Team FTR
REX Engines USA
RW Mods
Hoese37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 11:41 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by auto2 View Post
ok thanks! im thinking i need a new motor cause its 2 seasons old and last night i heard it humm but didnt spin until i moved the throttle a few times and then for the start of the race it just sat there for 5 seconds before it moved. glitch? radio? sensor wire?motor? whatever . seems like a good excuse to get a new motor and see if this problem goes away.
another friend mentioned he didnt really like the HD motor. said it felt flat after it let loose too much power. i may just try a 4000 and see.
Sounds as if you need either a new sensor wire or sensor board.
__________________
Tekno R/C
FTR 510 Raceway
Team FTR
REX Engines USA
RW Mods
Hoese37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 07:26 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 53
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Questions?? gearing

Quote:
Originally Posted by wittyname View Post
To me , I felt like a 4600 with a 14t pinion was more linear and easier to drive then my 4300 with a 17t. That being said , I run the 4300 with a 15t and the punch turned down most of the time and end point set at 85%. I think the esc and radio can smooth things out more then just the motor .
I put the rx8 gen 2 and pro4 hd 4300 in a built traxxas slash. You say 17T but what spur are you using, right now i have 14/54 it seams like i could go more???
Akrider174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 08:44 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,624
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Where the 4300hd outshines the 4600 is coming out of corners into jumps with little run up . The extra torque of the 4300hd will get you over easier , and to me the 4300hd feels smoother . Also if you are running a heavier truck like the Tekno SCT410 or the Durango SC10 the 4300hd will run cooler than the 4600 .
__________________
Have you been ripped off by Brushless Hobbies ? If so go to BBB.org and file a complaint !
BashemSmashem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 11:24 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 4,794
Trader Rating: 488 (100%+)
Default

I run a couple of different trucks. My spare has a Hobbywing 3400 geared with a 19T pinion [Tekno SCT410.3]. Its actually plenty fast and manageable. I recently discovered that I run faster with the spare than the blinged out race truck that has a 4000KV. I think most of us have been over-motoring our trucks.
__________________
Now that I've discovered the ignore list I plan to use it.....17 and counting!
QDRHRSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net