Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Novak Pulse cogging PLEASE HELP >

Novak Pulse cogging PLEASE HELP

Novak Pulse cogging PLEASE HELP

Old 12-17-2013, 10:03 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
khartlauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Novak Pulse cogging PLEASE HELP

I have had this issue since last week but now its starting to worry me. My motor is cogging at very low rpms with my Pulse, like really bad. I have done the hall sensor test and its operating normally so Im at a loss for words. I have changed both the sensor harness and have tried a different motor and its still doing it ( i tested that other motor on my GTB 2 and absolutely cog-free, smooth as butter). I even tried changing the receiver (brand new) and putting a glitch buster on it, still nothing. I have a feeling the sensorboard in the ESC is bad but am I missing something? Am I doing something wrong? It works for now, still running really well once it gets going but Im really worried Im gonna do more damage to either the ESC or motor. Please help.
khartlauer is offline  
Old 12-18-2013, 08:19 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,161
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

You've systematically worked through everything so well I'd say it's time to send in the ESC.
MarkA is offline  
Old 12-18-2013, 08:33 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,115
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You forgot to change the esc's minimum drive to max settings, and sometimes you have to physically move the esc in the Car away from carbon fiber, and double the stick tape that holds the esc down, while spacing all your electronics away from each other...
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Old 12-18-2013, 09:33 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
khartlauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
You forgot to change the esc's minimum drive to max settings, and sometimes you have to physically move the esc in the Car away from carbon fiber, and double the stick tape that holds the esc down, while spacing all your electronics away from each other...
how could the minimum drive affect it? my GTB 2 has the same minimum drive as my pulse. I ran the same set up on GTB 2 and it doesnt cog like that, it doesnt cog at all. the issue was only in the Pulse. All the ESC settings in which they share are the same.

My esc is in the tray behind the battery but I have a toe block separating them so its not touching the battery. and the receiver is in the side pod.
khartlauer is offline  
Old 12-18-2013, 09:40 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,161
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by khartlauer View Post
how could the minimum drive affect it? my GTB 2 has the same minimum drive as my pulse. I ran the same set up on GTB 2 and it doesnt cog like that, it doesnt cog at all. the issue was only in the Pulse. All the ESC settings in which they share are the same.

My esc is in the tray behind the battery but I have a toe block separating them so its not touching the battery. and the receiver is in the side pod.
Minimum drive can sometimes be upped to work around a cogging issue such that the amount of power being applied is never low enough to allow it to cog. However, it only hides the problem, it doesn't fix it.

For the rest, he was being tongue-in-cheek, or at least I hope he was, as those were great suggestions to solve glitching issues in the brushed era...
You really have been pretty thorough already on this one.
MarkA is offline  
Old 12-18-2013, 10:12 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
khartlauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MarkA View Post
Minimum drive can sometimes be upped to work around a cogging issue such that the amount of power being applied is never low enough to allow it to cog. However, it only hides the problem, it doesn't fix it.

For the rest, he was being tongue-in-cheek, or at least I hope he was, as those were great suggestions to solve glitching issues in the brushed era...
You really have been pretty thorough already on this one.
yeah, I dont want to up the minimum drive cause it might make the punch uncontrollable. I just wanted to make sure I did everything I could to diagnose that the issue was the ESC before I send it in and lose an ESC for a week.
khartlauer is offline  
Old 12-18-2013, 11:10 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
egobrkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,949
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by khartlauer View Post
yeah, I dont want to up the minimum drive cause it might make the punch uncontrollable. I just wanted to make sure I did everything I could to diagnose that the issue was the ESC before I send it in and lose an ESC for a week.
Yup send it in. It will be longer then a week with the holidays. You could wait till the 1st of the year to send it in.
egobrkr is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.