Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Batteries,esc and motor help please

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2013, 03:01 PM
Tech Rookie

Red face Batteries,esc and motor help please

Hi guys, I'm new to the rc world and im having trouble understanding the whole "what battery goes with what esc and motor"

I have a hsp 1/10 electric on road car which came with a 3300kv brushless motor in it and an esc which I'm unsure of the specs ( also came with a 7.2v 2000mah battery) What I'm trying to work out is the science behind what battery and esc can be used with my motor. My understanding so far is that a motor draws a certain amount of amps and that your esc needs to be of a rating at least equal to that, but what battery can I use???? Can I use any size battery with any c rating as long as its the right voltage???

I think my motor draws 45A and I think it has a 45A esc... Can I use say a 5000mah (20C) battery?

Thanks heeps
Old 07-27-2013, 03:29 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

ok easy way to calculate battery "c" rating. take the capacity and devide by 1000. this will give you one "c"( there is actually a different way to do it that makes sense mathmatically but i forgot it lol) so lets do the maths. a 5000 mah battery with a 20 "c" rating 5000/1000: 5: 1"c" so 5*20 "c" :100 amps. so the battery you have can probably deliver 100amps con.

here is another example a 7500mah battery with a 90 c rating will give 675 amps con, cuz (7500/1000):7.5 then (7.5*90):675

usually batterys may have a burst c rating meaning if the 5000mah had a con of 20c it might have a burst of 30c or 40c theoretically it would say on the battery.