RC2 Decoder

Reply

Old 03-11-2013, 07:38 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
MiTaller-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Questions?? RC2 Decoder

Hi

Recently we lent our RC2 decoder to another track for testing, and they lost our 12V adapter (power supply). I need to know the reference, or a pic from another adapter to try to find it.

Thanks for your help.
MiTaller-RC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:00 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,162
Default

Originally Posted by MiTaller-RC View Post
Hi

Recently we lent our RC2 decoder to another track for testing, and they lost our 12V adapter (power supply). I need to know the reference, or a pic from another adapter to try to find it.

Thanks for your help.
You can power the RC2 decoder from the USB port of your computer. Doesn't matter if your race management software uses the rs232 (serial port) you can still power it via USB! Even though the power supply puts out 12 volts the decoder only uses 5 volts.
Bob Malphurs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:33 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
MiTaller-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Yes, the decoder turns on with USB power, but it doesn't work.
The Software can "see" the decoder, but it can't find any transponders, only work sometimes and it shows "Force 120 - Hits 2".
Sometimes 3 or maximum 4 on "Hits"
I think it is due to power supply for the loop. Please let me know what can I do. Thanks.
MiTaller-RC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:49 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,162
Default

Originally Posted by MiTaller-RC View Post
Yes, the decoder turns on with USB power, but it doesn't work.
The Software can "see" the decoder, but it can't find any transponders, only work sometimes and it shows "Force 120 - Hits 2".
Sometimes 3 or maximum 4 on "Hits"
I think it is due to power supply for the loop. Please let me know what can I do. Thanks.
I assume we're talking the RC2 decoder? Plain red box, no display screen?

I've used many RC2's since they came out in 1999(?) and used the 12v power supply maybe twice and used the usb thousands of times! I use JLap but have seen it used powered via USB with RC Scoring Pro (using both rs232and USB) and Lapsfree. There is no reason it shoudn't work. I would say you have a loop problem. Check the resistance of your loop detached from the coaxial, should be 470 ohms. May have a bad coaxial.
Bob Malphurs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:57 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
JimmyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Taylor, MI
Posts: 471
Default

I have used the RC2 decoder with serial port, and powered by usb. It worked fine. This to me does sound like the loop is broken or does not have a solid connection.
JimmyG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:07 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,162
Default

I think powered by USB connected to a laptop is the perfect scenario for scoring any race. The computer powering the RC2 with its battery will keep you racing in the event of a power failure! This is what I miss most with the current RC3/4 decoders. Recommend using a backup (ups) when these!
Bob Malphurs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:45 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
MiTaller-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Thanks all for the info. I'll analyze the loop for a possible cut or broken cable.
MiTaller-RC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:32 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
Bob Malphurs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Monroe, GA USA
Posts: 1,162
Default

Just curious....did you find your problem?
Bob Malphurs is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service