R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2013, 06:59 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Tony Marks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Crosslake, MN
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Servos "Twitching"

The servos on my truggy randomly twitch. For example, when I'm going throttle-brake throttle-brake the steering will twitch sometimes. Or when I'm steering back and forth it will go wide open for a second. (Tested while not running for safety ) Running Protek receiver pack with losi regulator switch, and spektrum 3100 receiver. Any ideas or remedies?

Thanks.
__________________
Team Kyosho America - VP Powermaster
JConcepts - 92zero Designs
Full Throttle/510 Raceway
Jared Tebo Products
Tony Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:28 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
bigjayjay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,605
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

That could be caused by a battery issues or interface.. Spectrum setups are famous for glitching issues you should try a capacitor buster..
__________________
TEAM: SERPENT AMERICA DRIVER -ADVANTAGE RACING PRODUCTS-COMPETITION HEAT INC - HOBBYPRO, VPPRO - BCE-
Serpent: 811N, 811T, 811E
bigjayjay1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:51 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Tony Marks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Crosslake, MN
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjayjay1 View Post
That could be caused by a battery issues or interface.. Spectrum setups are famous for glitching issues you should try a capacitor buster..
Ill take one out of a 1/10 and try it. Thanks.
__________________
Team Kyosho America - VP Powermaster
JConcepts - 92zero Designs
Full Throttle/510 Raceway
Jared Tebo Products
Tony Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 09:51 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
CanyonCarverR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Marks View Post
The servos on my truggy randomly twitch. For example, when I'm going throttle-brake throttle-brake the steering will twitch sometimes. Or when I'm steering back and forth it will go wide open for a second. (Tested while not running for safety ) Running Protek receiver pack with losi regulator switch, and spektrum 3100 receiver. Any ideas or remedies?

Thanks.
I doubt it's the servos. The odds of both of them having the same problem are slim. I assume your battery is charged. Try swapping out the receiver for another to see if that cures it. If it doesn't, try swapping out the switch.
CanyonCarverR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 04:18 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jeffersonville, IN
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanyonCarverR1 View Post
I doubt it's the servos. The odds of both of them having the same problem are slim. I assume your battery is charged. Try swapping out the receiver for another to see if that cures it. If it doesn't, try swapping out the switch.
I had a steering servo cause that same issues last year wen I gave it full throttle the truggy would turn left?? On the starter box the throttle and steering would glitch. I sent it to savox and they said the steering servo had a bad processor or something. Hope this helps.
ArronRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:48 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Marks View Post
The servos on my truggy randomly twitch. For example, when I'm going throttle-brake throttle-brake the steering will twitch sometimes. Or when I'm steering back and forth it will go wide open for a second. (Tested while not running for safety ) Running Protek receiver pack with losi regulator switch, and spektrum 3100 receiver. Any ideas or remedies?

Thanks.
What servos? If they are capable of taking a full 7.4 i would ditch the regulator switch. It may be your problem.
RCNUTZ79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:55 PM   #7
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCNUTZ79 View Post
What servos? If they are capable of taking a full 7.4 i would ditch the regulator switch. It may be your problem.
And yes i have had a lot of glitch issues with Spektrum stuff but generally with electric cars, i had a lot of problems when using the sr300 receivers normally much better with a 3100
RCNUTZ79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:58 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
merdith6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazoria, TX
Posts: 2,350
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default and

One other issue with digital servos is thhey are constantly trying to center themselves. sometimes when the gears get worn they will bounce back and forth trying to center. what brand of servos. At least check the gear slop. a new set of gears may help.
__________________
Mad Dog drives a Mugen MBX-7, Novarossi engines, Clockwork Racing, Futaba radio, AKA/Proline Tires
merdith6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:52 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Tony Marks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Crosslake, MN
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

They are savox 1268 and 1257, brand new. Haven't tried the glitch buster yet.
__________________
Team Kyosho America - VP Powermaster
JConcepts - 92zero Designs
Full Throttle/510 Raceway
Jared Tebo Products
Tony Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:12 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Marks View Post
They are savox 1268 and 1257, brand new. Haven't tried the glitch buster yet.
Great choice of servos, bypass the switch and try it. Bet that fixes your problem. You wont hurt those servos with a full 7.4. I run a 1267 and 1268 with a Protek 2300 mah flat pack. No regulator needed. You dont want to haul that cap. around on your truck unless you have too.
RCNUTZ79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:15 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Tony Marks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Crosslake, MN
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCNUTZ79 View Post
Great choice of servos, bypass the switch and try it. Bet that fixes your problem. You wont hurt those servos with a full 7.4. I run a 1267 and 1268 with a Protek 2300 mah flat pack. No regulator needed. You dont want to haul that cap. around on your truck unless you have too.
I'll give it a whirl. Thank you!
__________________
Team Kyosho America - VP Powermaster
JConcepts - 92zero Designs
Full Throttle/510 Raceway
Jared Tebo Products
Tony Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:26 PM   #12
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Marks View Post
I'll give it a whirl. Thank you!
Your welcome, i hope it cures the problem. The first few times i went through that crap it just about drove me crazy. On a side note, i dont run any type of cutoff, i always charge my battery before i go to the track and on long days i might hook it up for a few minutes between heats, i have never had an issue of running one to low. May not be the best way but it works for me.
RCNUTZ79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:29 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Tony Marks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Crosslake, MN
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCNUTZ79 View Post
Your welcome, i hope it cures the problem. The first few times i went through that crap it just about drove me crazy. On a side note, i dont run any type of cutoff, i always charge my battery before i go to the track and on long days i might hook it up for a few minutes between heats, i have never had an issue of running one to low. May not be the best way but it works for me.
I always charge my packs after qualifiers and before mains to be safe.
__________________
Team Kyosho America - VP Powermaster
JConcepts - 92zero Designs
Full Throttle/510 Raceway
Jared Tebo Products
Tony Marks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:36 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
sschultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SW Minnesota
Posts: 1,345
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

A 1257 is not high voltage. I've heard people running them direct to a lipo, but, I wouldn't. I have a fluorescent desk light by my work area that when on, sometimes makes my servos twitch. I have spektrum receivers also. Just a thought.
__________________
Shane Schultz
sschultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 10:52 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Rsickles's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,334
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Rsickles
Default

The problem is that you are running the Losi Regulator. It is only a 5A output.

Both the 1268 and 1257 together will exceed the 5A current on the Losi Regulator.

You either need to run a 10A regulator (Orion makes one, but it's cumbersome), or bypass the regulator and not run one. Use either a LiFe Rx pack or NiMH Rx pack.
Rsickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:52 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net