Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Car loses power

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2012, 05:45 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Car loses power

First, let me start off by saying I'm fairly new to the hobby.

I bought a used TC3 about 5 months ago from the LHS and have been addicted ever since. The TC3 came with a brushed setup and the brushes went bad shortly after, so I upgraded to a Trinity D3 13.5t and a Novak GTB2. I'm also running an Airtronics servo that I got from the guy who holds the club races locally.

A couple months ago my car started freaking out. I would lose steering and it would take off at full speed. It usually only lasted a second or two, but usually long enough to hit something. Luckily the TC3 is built like a tank.

I was using a Fly Sky GT3B, and I thought that was the problem since it was a $40 transmitter. Last week I got a TC6.1 Worlds kit for my birthday. (Took me about 13 hours total to build it... lol) A friend of mine let me use his Traxxas TQi until I got a new transmitter, because I wasn't about to risk it with the Fly Sky.

With the TQi I had different symptoms. The car just dies out, almost as if I'm out of range. I lose steering and power. I even stood in the middle of the track and drove successfully for a few laps without it glitching. The TQi had a nick in the receiver wire, so I thought maybe it was losing range.

The same friend had a 2.4ghz transmitter that came with his Thunder Power bike that we knew to work well and have no issues. The car did the same thing, only this time it lost power on the back of the stretch and I broke a couple parts on my TC6.