Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Odd BL ESC glitch, need troubleshooting tips >

Odd BL ESC glitch, need troubleshooting tips

Odd BL ESC glitch, need troubleshooting tips

Reply

Old 11-19-2012, 11:44 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
STRINGCHEESE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 237
Default Odd BL ESC glitch, need troubleshooting tips

I have an LRP ESC running off spektrum S3000 and DX3R and Orion motor. Here's my problem. I just got a new kit and decided to start racing again after a couple year break. Built the car, put electronics in, everything seems fine. Did some quick testing in street and after a fast run and about 1 minute into battery, brake, stop, NO POWER. Half a second later, everything works again. Never lost steering.
The longest I lost throttle was for about 4 seconds. I'm stumped as to how to start troubleshooting it. Can someone give me a place to start?
STRINGCHEESE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:00 PM
  #2  
Moderator
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,156
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Are your lipos old and are you on throttle/accelerating when it cuts out? If so, you could be hitting the ESC's lipo cut when under a load. Also, perform the standard first step for throttle issues - replace the sensor cable.
MarkA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:17 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
cdwilliams1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,055
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Loose/faulty sensor wire?
cdwilliams1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:29 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Green Bay
Posts: 1,089
Trader Rating: 46 (98%+)
Default

Get a DSM2 spektrum rx(sr3100) to use with your Dx3r... I have a brand new one for sale if interested(it's in the for sale section)... Ever since i switched to dsm2 rx's i will never go back... i was having the same issues as u, haven't had an issue from then on
TurboTim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:19 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
STRINGCHEESE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 237
Default

Originally Posted by MarkA View Post
Are your lipos old and are you on throttle/accelerating when it cuts out? If so, you could be hitting the ESC's lipo cut when under a load. Also, perform the standard first step for throttle issues - replace the sensor cable.
New Lipo. after long full throttle run, stop, turn around, dead. 2 seconds later, ok. flat ground. Sensor wire is not very old? I think I have an sr3100 not an s3000. its a tiny little rx with a short antenna. I just re-BINDed the car and reset the ESC. turned the drag brake down, I was running the ESC in a 4wd. I'm going to do the internal temp readout at the track tonight. It wasn't even warm though. I'm running 18/87 gears in an SC10, Orion 10.5, I don't think there is any way it could be thermal-ing. My guess is the cap was draining from the drag brake? idk!!!
STRINGCHEESE is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service