futaba 4pl question

Old 08-20-2012, 03:50 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (14)
 
pfraser2488's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: newbern,tn
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default futaba 4pl question

for the ones running this radio what type of life battery will work other than the 40.00 one from tower and amain will work?and do u recommend even using another type of battery.

tia

paul
pfraser2488 is offline  
Old 08-20-2012, 08:53 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pfraser2488 View Post
for the ones running this radio what type of life battery will work other than the 40.00 one from tower and amain will work?and do u recommend even using another type of battery.

tia

paul
I wouldn't know since I and others I know all use the $40 battery from tower.
AreCee is offline  
Old 08-21-2012, 09:21 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (21)
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,161
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I've used these rechargable AA's in my 4PL for a while now and they work great for half the price. Just make sure if you go that route, you buy the higher quality ones like what I linked to and not the cheap grocery-store ones that won't hold the voltage high enough long enough.
MarkA is offline  
Old 08-21-2012, 11:18 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
The Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seatac/Tukwila WA USA
Posts: 966
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Regular AAs will last a long time before they need replacing, I'd just stick with those if you don't want to fork over the money for a LiFe. AA NiCds are nice too if you can find a good deal on them. I use AA NiCds in all my TV remotes, usually have to recharge them about once every 3 months or so.
The Captain is offline  
Old 08-21-2012, 11:25 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
ironzgti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 1,153
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Never had an issue with voltage or time from using normal AA's. Personally don't see the need to buy another battery that needs to be charged
ironzgti35 is offline  
Old 08-21-2012, 05:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (14)
 
pfraser2488's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: newbern,tn
Posts: 319
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info
pfraser2488 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.