Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Hobbywing Software Question? >

Hobbywing Software Question?

Hobbywing Software Question?

Old 07-06-2012, 11:50 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
NuttsnBolts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 433
Default Hobbywing Software Question?

Just been looking around on the internet for a cheap lil laptop to take to racing to hook up to the Club WiFi for the race results as well as store any photos and hook up my speedy to change any of the settings within it. While searching I came across these pretty cheap laptops on Ebay that use an Android 2.2 software to run.

While hooking up WiFi and browsing pictures is pretty easy I'm just curious as to whether the Android software would actually run the Hobbywing Setup program, or whether that program is just a Windows only thing.

This is the sort of Laptop I'm talking about: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAPwL6Ecm6s

Thanks.
NuttsnBolts is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 12:35 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 275
Default

Unless they make a software specifically for Android, there's no way it will run.
Arakon is offline  
Old 07-08-2012, 07:20 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
Holly W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 317
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

You might be better off emailing a hobbywing tech to get a definate answer.
Holly W is offline  
Old 07-12-2012, 01:01 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Murfreesboro TN
Posts: 684
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NuttsnBolts View Post
Just been looking around on the internet for a cheap lil laptop to take to racing to hook up to the Club WiFi for the race results as well as store any photos and hook up my speedy to change any of the settings within it. While searching I came across these pretty cheap laptops on Ebay that use an Android 2.2 software to run.

While hooking up WiFi and browsing pictures is pretty easy I'm just curious as to whether the Android software would actually run the Hobbywing Setup program, or whether that program is just a Windows only thing.

This is the sort of Laptop I'm talking about: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAPwL6Ecm6s

Thanks.
I will check into this for you. I have never tried to use the software on anything other than windows. I will check with them and find out for you asap
Josh Pease is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 12:01 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
NuttsnBolts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 433
Default

Thanks mate. I just figure that if it does work it would be a really cheap but worthwhile investment.
NuttsnBolts is offline  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:38 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey Nutter

Also check out the local pawn shops, I picked up a nifty little ASUS Netbook for $180AU, at the time ones with similar specs were still going for $300AU+ new. It's running Win XP and works great with the Hobbywing & Tekin software (even though I don't use tekin anymore), it also has wifi as you have seen.

Or you can get a Speed Passion Reventon esc with the android module which allows you to program the esc with your android phone via blue tooth.

Cheers
Rob.
ta04evah is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.