R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2011, 11:28 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default MMP, Wiring Colors and Controller Question

Picked up a Mamba max pro 5700kv combo and threw it in my SC10. The motor/esc comes pre soldered with leads and the wires are color coded Red, White and Black.

So I hooked them up to there color even though, to my knowledge it doesn't matter (OCD thing I guess) which they go to. So I go out and test my base setup and the truck runs twice as fast in reverse as forward. So naturally I swap the white and red wires and reverse my radio and presto... mega power in forward, 50% in reverse like I have it set.

Now the issue comes in where I have very little brake on forward now since the swap of wires. If I switch the wires back around, red to red and white to white, black I never touched, I have 50% forward drive power but 100% brake. I do have the brake set to 100% on Castle Link. I was of the assumption I could toss these wires around to any of the colors (mix and match) and it should work fine providing I have forward as it's supposed to be and the radio set as well. Wondering why my brake only gives me the 100% when my wire colors all match up.

Strange stuff....

BTW, long time troll, first time poster!
Creativeindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 06:09 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

You did calibrate the esc to your TX?
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 07:27 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: S.E. Mass.
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I had the same problem, I just put a Sidewinder V2 / 6900 combo in my son's on road car and it ran backwards and a 5700 4 pole that I put in my SC10 also ran backwards... weird because the other 5700 I have runs the correct rotation with my MMP. The quick fix was to swap wires but later on I swapped the wires back and used the Castle Link to just reverse the motor.

The first thing I checked was the throttle to make sure it was reversed like it needs to be with a Futaba radio.
Steve. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net