Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
RC car help needed... >

RC car help needed...

RC car help needed...

Old 08-20-2011, 05:20 AM
Tech Rookie

Exclamation RC car help needed...

Hi there,

I don't know if this is the right place to post. Im new to the forum and signed up mainly in the hope of get help with some info I require. so here goes...

I'm a new comer to the whole RC car world and I need to get a heck load of information about RC's and the way it works with regards to power distribution and voltage etc.
I have a couple of questions I would like to ask and hopefully get solved before I go any further. Here I go,

Btw. I'm a complete noob so expect the worst.

FIRSTLY, I'm assuming the 't' in 25t means torque? If I'm right then yay! But even so, I need to know more about motors. Can the torque tell me what kind of voltage can pass through the motor? If not then what? Which leads to the next question.

SECONDLY, how can I tell what kind of voltage can pass through a motor? Does R540 mean anything? It's a type of motor, that's all I know. Is there any sort of terminology for the amount of power a motor can take like '13v' for 13 Volts? Any thing?

THIRDLY, ESC's! I don't get them enough to understand. If its a 25a ESC I'm assuming it means 25 amps? What does this mean? 25 amps = ?. It can do what? Cook bread? Lol.

FOURTHLY, the servo... Does it require a certain amount of power? How can I tell? If I have a 11.6v battery hooked up to my esc will the esc send the right amount of power or to much?

FIFTHLY, can I hook two batterys to my car? I know how to do it, but how can I tell if my electronics can take it? Say like, a 11.6v + 7.2v = 18.8v? Right? How can I tell my esc can take it? What specs would my esc need to take that voltage? Amps perhaps? And if my esc can take it, will my motor be able for it also? And my servo?