R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2011, 09:15 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Tekin T8 wire size?

I just bought a Tekin T8 2000kv motor to use with my MMM ESC. I have looked at the Tekin website and searched everywhere to see what size wire they recommend and use with their combo's with no luck. All I currently have is Castle, and they are 10ga, but I see a lot of folks on the web using 12ga wire with T8's. Anybody have a source that says 12ga is what Tekin uses or is acceptable? If it is that would be nice as it is a lot easier to solder than 10ga.
wjmiller3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 09:25 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjmiller3 View Post
I just bought a Tekin T8 2000kv motor to use with my MMM ESC. I have looked at the Tekin website and searched everywhere to see what size wire they recommend and use with their combo's with no luck. All I currently have is Castle, and they are 10ga, but I see a lot of folks on the web using 12ga wire with T8's. Anybody have a source that says 12ga is what Tekin uses or is acceptable? If it is that would be nice as it is a lot easier to solder than 10ga.
You can use anything from 8 to 14 gauge where 10 and 12 would be the most common that people use.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:42 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Houston
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

In case anybody else was wondering, just recieved a reply from Tekin support and they said no need to ever go bigger than 12ga with the T8 motors.
wjmiller3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 06:08 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I like 14ga. myself especially in a tight narrow chassis.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:23 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net