Wiki Posts
Search

Lipo expansion?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2011, 07:36 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Lipo expansion?

This is probably a pretty newbish question, but I'm new to lipos and this is my first time encountering a problem that made me think about it. But do lipo's expand during use, due to heat, charge etc.? Or is that only when they "puff"(is that the term?)? I ask, because I'm building a setup to which, my 3S soft packs, will be a very tight fit. And I can only create so much space before I would have to build a new chassis, which I don't want to do, since it's a "vintage" truck. So any wisdom would be appreciated. Thank you for your time
Old 01-06-2011, 08:16 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Smuffy
This is probably a pretty newbish question, but I'm new to lipos and this is my first time encountering a problem that made me think about it. But do lipo's expand during use, due to heat, charge etc.? Or is that only when they "puff"(is that the term?)? I ask, because I'm building a setup to which, my 3S soft packs, will be a very tight fit. And I can only create so much space before I would have to build a new chassis, which I don't want to do, since it's a "vintage" truck. So any wisdom would be appreciated. Thank you for your time
Lipos should never puff if they feel swollen or soft and puffed they are shot.
Never make your lipo get to 140deg and make sure you buy the right rated lipo C rating for your aplication the higher C rating the more amps it can handle always try and get the highest C rating you can.
Old 01-06-2011, 10:17 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)