futaba bls servos

Old 11-29-2010, 09:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
bad ass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 285
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default futaba bls servos

Does any one know if I can use the bls 352 an 351 with strait lipo??
bad ass is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 09:45 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

Its always a loaded gun pointed at your head. It will not be fried at once but will be in the most crucial time when you least expect it. It happened to me so I regulate all my servos now except those that are rated to use lipo. Sure it will work and its faster but you can never be sure how long it will last.
oggietiu is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:33 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (74)
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

I raced my 09 NT1 for over a year an did not use a regulator, I won more races without a regulator, I ran the bls451 and 351 and they worked fine with my 7.4lipo, I wouldnt run low quality servos without a regulator, but these high end servos should be fine be sure to set your end points perfect and if your not comfortable then just run a regulator be sure its a high amp regulator that run no less than 5amp.
cheers

Last edited by aussies1129; 11-29-2010 at 11:39 PM.
aussies1129 is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:03 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
golferdude1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chiraq
Posts: 1,475
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Read the futaba manuals....they do not recommend running straight lipo
golferdude1971 is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 02:39 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Jon Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Selah WA
Posts: 1,290
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bad ass View Post
Does any one know if I can use the bls 352 an 351 with strait lipo??
Ran my BLS servos all year at 7.4. A buddy of mine also ran his at 7.4...for two seasons now. Not one issue.
Jon Moore is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 02:51 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (74)
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by golferdude1971 View Post
Read the futaba manuals....they do not recommend running straight lipo
thats correct but they all say that to cover the ass
aussies1129 is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 05:18 AM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

I bet some has been succesful not using a regulator but I am not the lucky one. But its really up to you. A regulator might fail also causing a run away and wrecking the whole car instead of one servo.
oggietiu is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:52 AM
  #8  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,110
Default

why?

I dare you to time laps with 6v and 7.4v and show me the faster lap time


either buy servos rated for 7.4, like KO

or

run li-fe

or

stick with nimh
JayL is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 01:21 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
jmaxey51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 3,917
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

IMO just run LiFe batteries. i dont understand why everyone wants to run lipo now days when looking at lap times, no one is faster by running LiPo... a 1300 LiFe battery will last over an hour and half....even a 1600mAh NiMh will last over an hour.
jmaxey51 is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 05:02 AM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
bad ass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 285
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

Thsnks guys! I was runing this servos with regulated lipo, you still recomend to chage for lipo right no?
bad ass is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 02:14 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
merdith6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazoria, TX
Posts: 2,350
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default NiMh

Just use a regular 6v reciever battery, no issues, no questions. those BLS servos are powerful without a lipo....JMO.....
merdith6 is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 02:39 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Nickd18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 396
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I ran 352's in my truggy on nimh and I could only go 38min. It was a 1600mah pack, 3 weeks old.. I then went to a regulated lipo and I'm getting right at 75min.
Nickd18 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.