Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Hobbywing EZrun 60A ESC problem... >

Hobbywing EZrun 60A ESC problem...

Hobbywing EZrun 60A ESC problem...

Old 03-23-2010, 08:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
tamiya_d1_junky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: sprayin you with gravel....
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Exclamation Hobbywing EZrun 60A ESC problem...

Hey guys, I've had a 5.5T 60A EZrun combo inmy drift car for a while now, and it started playing up- power and steering cutting in and out. Then, I pull it up to check it out, turn it off and then back on again, and *pop*- a puff of smoke emerges from the capacitor set. i cut the heat shrink away and find the earth sided capacitor is fried, as is this tiny little rectangluar box in front of it. Has anyone else had this problem, and can it be fixed without replacing the ESC, if so what parts do I need to fix it?

Cheers

Conrad
P.S I'll post pics of it after work tonight...
tamiya_d1_junky is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 08:21 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
killermmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 254
Default

sorry but i think it fry for good!!!
killermmn is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 08:28 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
tamiya_d1_junky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: sprayin you with gravel....
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

The capacitor set is seperate from the ESC, so Im HOPING I can fix it myself...
tamiya_d1_junky is offline  
Old 03-23-2010, 08:44 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tamiya_d1_junky View Post
The capacitor set is seperate from the ESC, so Im HOPING I can fix it myself...
nope no probs. Check ur batt terminals.

U can run with or without caps installed
cheapskate.brok is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 07:02 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
tamiya_d1_junky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: sprayin you with gravel....
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Exclamation Pic added

Here's a pic of the damage:

Anyone done this?
tamiya_d1_junky is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 08:08 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,167
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i did. Just de-solder the caps, replace 'em. Or you can run without them. It happened to me when I accident;y reversed the batt's polarity.
cheapskate.brok is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 02:53 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
 
PaPeRo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 692
Default

http://www.hobbypartz.com/sucamoforxse.html
PaPeRo is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 08:07 PM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (22)
 
tamiya_d1_junky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: sprayin you with gravel....
Posts: 869
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the link PaPeRo. Just ordered one.
tamiya_d1_junky is offline  
Old 10-11-2010, 02:25 AM
  #9  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default Problem with Ezrun 60A ESC with 5.5T motor

Hello. I have a problem whereby my 5.5T motor eventually slowed down and stopped. My battery was still ok. The ESC responds to the throttle because the red LED on it flashes, but no turn on the motor. Also no beep produced by the ESC.

Any ideas please???
Hitz1980 is offline  
Old 10-21-2010, 09:48 PM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
 
beerman100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 9
Default Ezrun 60a ESC

I am having the exact same problem as Hitz1980. Ran for 2 minutes, died, lights come on when they shoud but beeping stopped. Checked esc on another motor, same problem. Run 2s 7.4 lipo 5000mah in good condition. Cut off set at 3.0v per cell.

Any advice would be great.

Thank you

Mick
beerman100 is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 08:14 AM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

If esc does the same thing with another motor that you know works good, the esc is bad. If its new, its warranty time, time to return it and get replacement.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 10:52 PM
  #12  
Tech Rookie
 
beerman100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 9
Default Esc Problem

Thanks for the reply, was just living in hope that, that wasn't the problem.

Cheers

Mick
beerman100 is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 01:46 AM
  #13  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Hi Mick,

I reported back to the chinese seller on ebay the problem I have and was advised by him that the ESC had died. Fortunately the chinese supplier was happy enough to post me out a new one free of charge so hopefully should arrive next week. He advise it was a faulty unit sent out but not sure about this now as you seem to have the same issue.

By the way anyone, what burst and timing setting should the 60A ESC set to for a 1/10 on road car. Not sure now if the battery I purchased could cope with the default settings of the ESC and decided to fry??? My battery is from Hong Kong, a 7.4V 5200mAh 2S lipo with 35C and 60C burst and thought it would be good enough to cope with the power. It was quite cheap compared to most other branded ones. Please advise. Thanks
Hitz1980 is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 07:56 AM
  #14  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hitz1980 View Post
....By the way anyone, what burst and timing setting should the 60A ESC set to for a 1/10 on road car. Not sure now if the battery I purchased could cope with the default settings of the ESC and decided to fry??? My battery is from Hong Kong, a 7.4V 5200mAh 2S lipo with 35C and 60C burst and thought it would be good enough to cope with the power. It was quite cheap compared to most other branded ones. Please advise. Thanks
Not sure on the settings you need to run, but I would stick to the defaults or whatever is recommended in the manual. As far as the lipo is concerned, the cheaper ones like that can be widly overrated. If the C Rating is accurate, you should have no prob with it. Run it a few minutes with a range of throttle input and check the lipo temp. It should be barely warm. If it's hot, the C rating is optimistic and its going to have issues supplying the current the motor needs. Prob need a better lipo in that case.

Not all cheap lipos are like this. The HobbyKing lipos have been around and seem to be long past their construction issues/cell probs. They've been tested and proven to be good for the price.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 01:18 AM
  #15  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for that.
Hitz1980 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.