Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Lengthen Spektrum receiver wire >

Lengthen Spektrum receiver wire

Lengthen Spektrum receiver wire

Old 02-02-2010, 01:32 AM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Default Lengthen Spektrum receiver wire

If I lengthen the wire on my spektrum receiver, will it have any harmful effects? My goal is to get my antenna higher in the air because I'm not getting a good signal with the M11/Spektrum combination. Also, if I lengthen it, what type of wire should I use? Thanks.
y7deluxe is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 06:37 AM
  #2  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (97)
 
DavidR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake of the Ozarks, Mo
Posts: 1,670
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

Hi...

Adding length to the antenna isn't as simple as just adding extra wire.

The antenna is setup to be certain length for a reason. It's actually a function of tuning to the correct frequency.

Antennas are usually built in guarter wavelength, half, or full. Or multiples of each.

You really shouldn't be having any problems with signal... if you are having issues something else is wrong.

What vehicle are you having problems with and what are your electronics?

Last edited by DavidR; 02-02-2010 at 08:20 AM.
DavidR is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 08:08 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (3)
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

David is spot-on here. Plus if you modify your receiver you also void the warranty.
RCGaryK is offline  
Old 02-02-2010, 08:52 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (22)
 
GLwagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Baraboo
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by y7deluxe View Post
I'm not getting a good signal with the M11/Spektrum combination.
Unfortunately you've picked a brand that doesn't have the farthest range in the world...

I don't recall the distance, but I think it was around 400'
Other brands will go to 1200' & are compatible for use on water.
If possible, look into another brand of module & receiver if you need more.

How far are you trying to go ?
DSM or DSM-Pro (DSM-2) ?
GLwagon is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 10:13 PM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Default

The signal goes in and out after about 150 feet and gets worse with distance. How do I determine if I have the DSM or DSM2?
y7deluxe is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 03:11 PM
  #6  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Open the case and make sure the antenna plug is fully seated on the board. They can come loose and cause reception problems.
straycat40 is offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 12:55 AM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 29
Default

my antenna was plugged in just fine.

I followed this tutorial and managed to fix my problems: http://www.rc411.com/pages/howto.php?howto=16&page=6

My car now goes 1200+ feet. I can't see it past 1200feet, so I'm happy Thanks for all of the help.
y7deluxe is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.