m11 not centering

Old 08-17-2009, 06:23 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default m11 not centering

When i put my buggy with tires on the ground and turn the wheel left its fine, but when it returns it is off center. When i do it off the ground on the starter box i think it is still off. Although much harder to tell. Is this normal? And it only does it in one direction.

i don't think it could be my setup or trim tried all that.


anyone ever heard of this?
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 06:39 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (22)
 
BigRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 440
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Mine is doing that, but I believe it is the servo. After 4 years steering an 1/8th scale, it about time to replace it.
BigRed is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 06:58 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BigRed View Post
Mine is doing that, but I believe it is the servo. After 4 years steering an 1/8th scale, it about time to replace it.
how could it be my servo? its a brand new 7955
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:42 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

ok. just about brand new hitec 7955 and a recently bought m11. My endpoints were set a little far to begin with but that was only for a little bit and there is Zero play in the servo.

Someone has to have somekind of answer.
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:48 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,165
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I had a problem similar to this 10 years ago with a brand new M8 radio. I noticed that every time I turned on my truck I had to adjust the steering trim. Many times it was 10 clicks or more on the radio. It turned out that I had a bad steering pot in the radio.
Scott Fisher is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:55 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

it's not a trim problem. But you think it could be related to the same defect? Of maybe i droped it (happened a couple weeks ago) and damaged it?
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:57 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,165
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
it's not a trim problem. But you think it could be related to the same defect? Of maybe i droped it (happened a couple weeks ago) and damaged it?

My radio didn't have a trim problem either. Every time I used the vehicle the wheels would be off center a little. Your problem might be the servo. Try installing a different servo and see if the problem still exists. Process of elimination.
Scott Fisher is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 04:54 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (22)
 
BigRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 440
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scott Fisher View Post
My radio didn't have a trim problem either. Every time I used the vehicle the wheels would be off center a little. Your problem might be the servo. Try installing a different servo and see if the problem still exists. Process of elimination.
I guess I should've made my post more clear, try a new servo and see if its that. Its possible your wheel on the radio might be gummed up with either dirt or dust. Mine was.
BigRed is offline  
Old 08-20-2009, 07:14 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i thought i fixed the problem. But i guessed i never figured it out. Installed a new servo and it worked fine. What i can't understand is it's a brand new 7955 tg servo. everyone told me to get it and it was the best etc etc. I am very unhappy, being that i cannot find the reciept now. How much would hitec charge me to fix it out of pocket?
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-20-2009, 07:24 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Martensville, Saskatchewan
Posts: 102
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i have a buddy who fried his servo of 2 years old, he didnt send in the bill of sale and they fixed it under warranty and told him next time he has to send the bill in or they wouldnt warranty it. if you got it locally, then get them to make up a dummy receipt and there you go. otherwise email the place you bought it and explain your problem and maybe htey migt exchange it or make up a second receipt for you.
ShootinBlanks is offline  
Old 08-20-2009, 09:39 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
everyone told me to get it and it was the best etc etc. I am very unhappy, being that i cannot find the reciept now. How much would hitec charge me to fix it out of pocket?
Everyone told you to get it because it ahs the best warranty. Send it in without the receipt, write a paragraph about what is happening, and you will get a new servo in the mail in a couple weeks.

You have to pay shipping out of pocket.
Chris__RC is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.