SR3300T and AMBrc

Reply

Old 06-10-2009, 06:17 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 39
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default SR3300T and AMBrc

Hey Guys, curious to know which port you use to power the AMBrc transponder with the SR3300T?

I cant seem to get mine to work and am starting to worry its my AMB?

Thanks, Paul
paups is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 06:25 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
jrwoodchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northampton, Massachusettes
Posts: 1,336
Default

Originally Posted by paups View Post
Hey Guys, curious to know which port you use to power the AMBrc transponder with the SR3300T?

I cant seem to get mine to work and am starting to worry its my AMB?

Thanks, Paul
Any free port should work.
jrwoodchuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 06:28 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
jrwoodchuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Northampton, Massachusettes
Posts: 1,336
Default

if the steering servo is working fine, pull that plug and put the transponder's plug in there. if the light doesn't come on, it's the transponder.
jrwoodchuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 07:30 PM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 39
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the suggestion - It worked in the STR but not in the LAP port for some reason. Ended up putting it into the Bind port and seems to be OK.

My RPM telemetry is not working so might be the LAP and RPM ports on the RX ...

Thanks again, P
paups is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 03:05 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Default

THe LAP port is for a on board counting system that Spectrum sells seperatly. Just plug the pt into the third channel port.
kidcotton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:13 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
 
Shem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Memphis
Posts: 181
Default BL setup with BEC

I am using this same setup and am also running an external BEC that is plugged into the AUX channel. The ESC is plugged into the THR channel, and the steering in the STR of course. Is it possible to run the transponder on the BIND/RS port (since this is the only free port besides the telemetry ports)? Thanks guys for your help
Shem1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:18 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 408
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

The AMB will work on the Bind port, as well as the thr/str/or aux.

The issue youre having is that that telemetry ports do not have the same voltage as the ports meant for servos, and thereby do not have enough power to turn the AM on.
stg099 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:20 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
 
Shem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Memphis
Posts: 181
Default

Telemetry ports are regulated to 3.3v and must not be used to power it according to the instructions. Therefore I'm thinking of binding it using the bind plug in the BIND/RS port and power in AUX. Once bound, I will power it off, remove bind plug and plug switch into BIND/RS and PT into AUX.

BIND/RS - BEC/Batt
STR - Steering
THR - ESC (minus the + lead wire)
AUX - Transponder

Has anyone tried this setup? Thanks
Shem1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:24 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (50)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 408
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

That should work just fine


Originally Posted by Shem1 View Post
Telemetry ports are regulated to 3.3v and must not be used to power it according to the instructions. Therefore I'm thinking of binding it using the bind plug in the BIND/RS port and power in AUX. Once bound, I will power it off, remove bind plug and plug switch into BIND/RS and PT into AUX.

BIND/RS - BEC/Batt
STR - Steering
THR - ESC (minus the + lead wire)
AUX - Transponder

Has anyone tried this setup? Thanks
stg099 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:25 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Shem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Memphis
Posts: 181
Default

Originally Posted by stg099 View Post
The AMB will work on the Bind port, as well as the thr/str/or aux.

The issue youre having is that that telemetry ports do not have the same voltage as the ports meant for servos, and thereby do not have enough power to turn the AM on.
Thank you sir, appretiate it
Shem1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:09 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
Zao18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 367
Default

Originally Posted by Shem1 View Post
Telemetry ports are regulated to 3.3v and must not be used to power it according to the instructions. Therefore I'm thinking of binding it using the bind plug in the BIND/RS port and power in AUX. Once bound, I will power it off, remove bind plug and plug switch into BIND/RS and PT into AUX.

BIND/RS - BEC/Batt
STR - Steering
THR - ESC (minus the + lead wire)
AUX - Transponder

Has anyone tried this setup? Thanks
Or you can make it one step simpler and just plug the transponder into the BIND/RS port. That way, if you ever need to rebind again for some reason, instead of unplugging the transponder and moving the switch back over to AUX, you only need to unplug the transponder from the BIND/RS port. What I have done is connected a short extension wire to the BIND/RS port and have the other side outside the receiver tray. That way, I can easily connect/disconnect a transponder or do a rebind without ever having to open the receiver tray.
Zao18 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 01:58 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
Shem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Memphis
Posts: 181
Default

Cool. Thanks for the tip! I ended up doing that. Final configuration was:

BIND/RS - PT
STR - Steering
THR - ESC (minus the + lead wire)
AUX - BEC

You are right it's easier Everything works spiffy with this configuration for anyone else in the future who wants to know. Thanks for your help guys.
Shem1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service