Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
IS IT POSSIBLE TO INSTALL A BALANCING HARNESS >

IS IT POSSIBLE TO INSTALL A BALANCING HARNESS

IS IT POSSIBLE TO INSTALL A BALANCING HARNESS

Reply

Old 02-24-2008, 08:32 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
meronr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oradell NJ
Posts: 476
Default IS IT POSSIBLE TO INSTALL A BALANCING HARNESS

I have a question about some lipo batteries that i have. They don't have a balancing harness and was wondering if it is possible to install a balancing harness onto these batteries. I was also wondering if it is possible do install a harness is there anyone who would be able to offer this service.
meronr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 10:02 PM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Originally Posted by meronr View Post
I have a question about some lipo batteries that i have. They don't have a balancing harness and was wondering if it is possible to install a balancing harness onto these batteries. I was also wondering if it is possible do install a harness is there anyone who would be able to offer this service.
How about using some Velcro Straps?You can use them to hold the lipos down anywhere to balance it out.
RC10Tim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 10:17 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 490
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Wow, I feel like I'm at RCU.

All a balancing harness is, is a set of wires going from the positive of cell#1, the connection between cell 1&2, and the negative of 2, for a 2S pack.
That allows your balancer to read the voltage of each individual cell. Which wire is which on different harnesses depends on the balancer and tap.
All you need is a soldering setup, a tap and some patience.
Jeckler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 09:05 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
lil-bump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Cold Great Lakes
Posts: 2,994
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

If you are talking about lipo transmitter packs.I was told from a reliable source that these packs do not need to be balanced. Transmitter lipo packs have very little current draw and hardly ever generate any heat when discharging; it's not neceissary to balance these packs. But to install a balance plug is not hard. You just have to make sure not to short the leads out. A very bad thing to do with a lipo.
lil-bump is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 09:12 AM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 84
Default

rubber bands might do the trick,dont worry about the voltage just make sure the battery doesnt fall out of the car because then you will have to walk all the way down the street to plug it back in.

Just Joking.

The best way to balance your lipos is putting on the end of a broomstick and balncing the broomstick on your finger tip.check the voltage with a meter.if one is higher than the other put it on the charger to bring it up to the same # as the other one.

if that doesnt work,ask your mom for a hair pin,a paper clip and some string then get back to me for more help.
RC10Tim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 01:25 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,078
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

So if that balancing plug on the lipos has plugged in all (-) and (+) of all individual cells in a LIPO battery then i could plug my charger to each one and charge them separately.
OR charge the pack up to 3/4 of full charge and then charge individually...this way we charge faster.

Can this be done?
vti-chris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 03:20 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 187
Default

You can charge the cells individually, many people do this instead of using a balancer. It won't be faster than charging the pack normally though.
_pilot_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 04:32 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,078
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If we only need to balance once every 3-4 charges then this won't be a problem.
I suppose!!
vti-chris is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service