Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Vertebreaker

New esc I think?

Old 04-16-2022, 12:25 PM
Tech Adept

Default New esc I think?

Need a new esc i think but I’m not sure what to get
so here’s why: I have a 2wd stampede with a reedy reaktor 3500kv motor/esc combo and I’ve been running it for years now and it’s been sitting for a few years and I’m getting back into the hobby and when I went to drive it it would drive like it’s at 50% throttle like it’s in some kind of training mode or something but I tried calibrating it and to no help it still runs at 50% power so I tried taking the original controller and receiver out for a spektrum dx3 controller and now I’m getting no throttle response at all so I ran up to my lhs to see if they could figure it out and they said the esc is most likely dead.
with that in mind I guess I need a new esc but it’s been a few years since I’ve messed with these so I’m just looking for some opinions on what to do now
Old 04-16-2022, 04:46 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

I assume its a Traxxas VXL ESC? I had issues w mine when using Futaba radio gear. I'd plug the Traxxas stuff back in just in case. Is it showing the correct lights for race / practice mode?
--Alex
Old 04-16-2022, 05:45 PM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by alexo35
I assume its a Traxxas VXL ESC? I had issues w mine when using Futaba radio gear. I'd plug the Traxxas stuff back in just in case. Is it showing the correct lights for race / practice mode?
--Alex
no it’s this:
https://www.google.com/shopping/prod...bSACdgQgjYI6BA

and when I turn it on it will flash the light twice to show it’s in Lipo mode and then the light just cuts off completely
honestly I think it is dead and I just need a new esc but I don’t know what to get I’m looking for something reliable for 60$ or so I’m just running on some 2s lipos
It also came as a brushed stampede and I had upgraded to this motor/esc a few years ago
Old 04-17-2022, 01:57 PM
Tech Apprentice