Wiki Posts
Search

Please help this noob with RC electronics

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2021, 08:41 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Please help this noob with RC electronics

Hey there,

I'm new to the RC hobby and I have been figuring it out on my own so far.

For me it started with the DJI Mini 2 which led to FPV drones which in turn has me wanting to build and operate an RC boat and an RC tank for fun, for footage, for the learning experience, and generally for the LOLs.

So far I think I have a pretty solid understanding of FPV drones.

Battery gives power. Radio sends commands. Receiver receives commands. Receiver passes commands to flight controller. Flight controller does some maths. Flight controller sends commands to ESC. ESC sends commands to motors. Motors spin.

And hey, we have flight.

Then of course there is the video system but that's a whole other thing.

So I am planning on a boat and a tank.

I believe a lot of it is the same, here's what I think I need.

Receiver to receive commands. Something to get the commands from the receiver, do some maths, and send info on what to do to an ESC. An ESC. Motors. Propellers for the boat, wheels and treads for the tank.

This is where I'm stuck.

With FPV drones the software running on the flight controller (for me it is BetaFlight) has the ability to receive the info from the Receiver and pass info to the ESC.

As someone new to the entire RC hobby I don't have the knowledge of what is the part for a boat, tank (and other things) that can perform this function.

I have an OpenTX controller and some spare FrSky receivers so ideally I'd like to use that gear for my tank and boat.

So my questions are:

- What can I use to receive the info from the receiver for these kinds of applications? (some sort of controller or something?)

- What kind of ESC can I use for these kinds of applications?

- In what way can I make the motors reversible? Is that a function of the controller, the ESC, or both?