Search
Like Tree6Likes

Mamba Max Pro help

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2017, 09:45 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Unhappy Mamba Max Pro help

Combo: Max pro running a Novak 17.5 in a Slash with MT tires (Stampede size) Geared 22/87. NiMh 3300 that is brand new.
Both the ESC and Motor are old but have been setting most of that time. (I think I remember why now.)

Things changed or missing: Fan died years ago but has has a fan powered by BEC. Just replaced the switch as it for sure was bad. Freshly updated Beta firmware.

The Problem: ESC cuts out and resets randomly regardless of temp or time ran. It will power the RX and servo but not run the motor. At times I have to turn it on twice to get it to arm. It never stays on long enough to get hot so I don't think it can be that.

The question: Do I look in to the ESC or the motor as the problem?

Included pics: Set-up in truck and ESC settings from PC link.

I have lots of brushed experience but not so much brushless. Any things I can try before sending it back would be helpful.

Thank you

Old 12-30-2017, 10:46 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Will it run more reliably in sensorless mode? Switch the ESC to sensorless mode and unplug the sensor cable. The motor will probably run like crap at low RPM, but it will at least let you know if it's a sensor/cable/connector problem.
SocalSnakeEyes likes this.
Old 12-30-2017, 11:44 PM
Tech Master

I will give that a shot tomorrow. Plus a good cleaning of that 17.5 and a 13.5 I have. But, would that make the ESC restart?
Old 12-31-2017, 12:37 PM
Tech Champion

I don't know. If the ESC is rebooting for reasons other than an intermittent mechanical switch failure, then those reasons are known only to the people who wrote the software.

EDIT: Speaking of software, don't run beta versions unless you're willing to accept a higher likelihood of software errors. Beta versions haven't been thoroughly tested yet.
Old 12-31-2017, 01:07 PM
Tech Master