Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > R/C Tech Site Forum
Amain popup ad -- PLEASE REPORT YOUR DEVICE AND BROWSER TYPE >

Amain popup ad -- PLEASE REPORT YOUR DEVICE AND BROWSER TYPE

Amain popup ad -- PLEASE REPORT YOUR DEVICE AND BROWSER TYPE

Closed Thread

Old 11-18-2015, 10:23 PM
  #1  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (96)
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Angry Amain popup ad -- PLEASE REPORT YOUR DEVICE AND BROWSER TYPE

I was browsing the site on a PC and had an giant amain add popup in the middle of the screen.

Amain just lost a customer today. There is no reason for advertisements to be intrusive.

Last edited by IBobi; 11-20-2015 at 05:01 PM.
whitrzac is offline  
Old 11-18-2015, 10:24 PM
  #2  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (313)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,708
Trader Rating: 313 (100%+)
Default

It does the same with that plugin turned on (just tested on a couple of PC's at work)
nexxus is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 08:52 AM
  #3  
Administrator
iTrader: (26)
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,512
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
I was browsing the site on a PC and had an giant amain add popup in the middle of the screen.

Amain just lost a customer today. There is no reason for advertisements to be intrusive.
how is this amains fault?? they paid for an add, how it appeared is on IB...its not a-mains fault your easily offended...

Last edited by IBobi; 11-20-2015 at 05:02 PM.
Matt M. is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 08:56 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Jaymancd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: in my house
Posts: 1,366
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I don't see a problem with it. How would your employer advertise if they were an online store closing in on the largest internet shopping day of the year? I would guess they would do the same thing.
Jaymancd is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 10:53 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (96)
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Matt M. View Post
how is this amains fault?? they paid for an add, how it appeared is on IB...its not a-mains fault your easily offended...
They paid for an add to pop up in the middle of the page. They should know better.
whitrzac is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 10:59 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Jaymancd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: in my house
Posts: 1,366
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
They paid for an add to pop up in the middle of the page. They should know better.
Its good business because eventually they will get somebody to click the add, not the little "x" that is in the corner. How else should they go about their marketing?
Jaymancd is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 11:04 AM
  #7  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (168)
 
Matt Trimmings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 6,245
Trader Rating: 168 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by whitrzac View Post
Amain just lost a customer today. There is no reason for advertisements to be intrusive.
...
Attached Thumbnails Amain popup ad -- PLEASE REPORT YOUR DEVICE AND BROWSER TYPE-serious.png  
Matt Trimmings is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 06:27 PM
  #8  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (313)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,708
Trader Rating: 313 (100%+)
Default

Guys site admin are aware of it, but at the end of the day this is a forum 99% of us don't pay to use, so the bills have to be paid somehow.
nexxus is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 07:05 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (33)
 
blarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Beyond the outer rim
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Matt M. View Post
how is this amains fault?? they paid for an add, how it appeared is on IB...its not a-mains fault your easily offended...
Exactly. Why would you complain about this? Keeps me informed on sales at amain or anywhere else. As stated, rctech have to pay the bills some how.
blarks is offline  
Old 11-19-2015, 09:11 PM
  #10  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (96)
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Amain popup add, ok. Other popup adds, not ok.


Logic, meet window.
whitrzac is offline  
Old 11-20-2015, 05:07 PM
  #11  
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 821
Default

Originally Posted by Matt M. View Post
how is this amains fault?? they paid for an add, how it appeared is on IB...its not a-mains fault your easily offended...
Actually our advertisers know exactly how their ads are going to appear.

FYI all, we are working to make the ad easier to close on mobile devices.

Paul
IBobi is offline  
Old 11-20-2015, 11:41 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
nachofoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have noticed that I can use Chrome mobile again without getting redirected. Kudos there. I can uninstall Firefox now.
nachofoot is offline  
Old 11-21-2015, 02:02 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Leon, Texas
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I wouldn't mind it so much, but every time I open another page or thread it keeps popping up, it's freaking annoying. Like a freaking porn site.....
Rob4607 is offline  
Old 11-21-2015, 04:44 PM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (24)
 
3D-Seth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 813
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rob4607 View Post
I wouldn't mind it so much, but every time I open another page or thread it keeps popping up, it's freaking annoying. Like a freaking porn site.....
Agree.

Fine the first time I go to the forums, but every fricking time I load an RC Tech page? Seriously?

Even replying to this I had to click off of it. Rediculous!
3D-Seth is offline  
Old 11-21-2015, 05:16 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (102)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kalamazoo,MI
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Yep it sucks....
dan-o is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service