Like Tree33Likes

Should ads require a picture.

Reply

Old 12-02-2016, 04:36 AM
  #1  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (252)
 
hotrod87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalispell Mt
Posts: 11,090
Trader Rating: 252 (100%+)
Default Should ads require a picture.

I know this has been done at least two other times I've found. Maybe the third times the charm. Easy question. Should an ad require pictures of the item for sale or for trade ? I most definitely think so.

What is your opinion.
hotrod87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 04:51 AM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
 
oivaf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Herndon VA
Posts: 58
Default

This would fall under the category of "Duh". Of course a picture should be included, I hate it when I see these for sale threads and they say PM me or text me for pics. Always a turn off for me and I never buy from these cats.
oivaf1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 04:52 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by oivaf1 View Post
This would fall under the category of "Duh". Of course a picture should be included, I hate it when I see these for sale threads and they say PM me or text me for pics. Always a turn off for me and I never buy from these cats.
agreed, i think it should be mandatory. there's some forums that require you post a picture of your item with your SN, but i dont think all of that is necessary, but posting a pic is as easy as taking the pic, uploading it to photobucket or tinypic and copy/pasting the link.
phatboislim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 05:14 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (337)
 
flat6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,569
Trader Rating: 337 (100%+)
Default

I simply skip over the ads without pics... if they have no pics or horribly blurry pics, that is an immediate red flag. The people who don't take the time to post pics I've found often don't take the time to properly care for/maintain their vehicles.
flat6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 05:24 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Slapjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,063
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I hate it when ads don't have pics. On the other hand I have had to post ads without pics because a lot of the time this forum won't let you post a pic. I have posted several things and then had it say upload failed (when posting from my iphone). But usually I can come to work the next day and get it to work on the computer. Maybe that is something that can be fixed?
EMSFF likes this.
Slapjack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 05:29 AM
  #6  
Suspended
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 51
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slapjack View Post
I hate it when ads don't have pics. On the other hand I have had to post ads without pics because a lot of the time this forum won't let you post a pic. I have posted several things and then had it say upload failed (when posting from my iphone). But usually I can come to work the next day and get it to work on the computer. Maybe that is something that can be fixed?
You probably need to shrink the file size down because it is over the size limit. I have had to do that on a few of mine, and then they worked.
JodyG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 05:32 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (32)
 
xrocket21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 225
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Yes definitely
xrocket21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 06:43 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Yes. I don't care what is they're selling. I'll skip to the next add because if you're too lazy to post a photo then I'd assume you're selling something that hasn't been taken care of.
FJC 88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 06:48 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (51)
 
aracefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: OK
Posts: 1,077
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by flat6 View Post
I simply skip over the ads without pics... if they have no pics or horribly blurry pics, that is an immediate red flag. The people who don't take the time to post pics I've found often don't take the time to properly care for/maintain their vehicles.
^^ QFT.
aracefan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 06:49 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 204
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

No. Why? Skip it if it doesn't, what's the big? Ban "lazy" or pic challenged peeps?
Yes it's nice to see a pic, but I'll bet you guys are just bored/looking. If I am looking to actually buy something, I'm not too lazy to ask for a pic. Sellers can expect more serious inquires, instead of tire kickers.
my .02(and I have listing w/o pics;/
EMSFF likes this.
caseyb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 06:51 AM
  #11  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (22)
 
MadMax1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 231
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

If you actually expect someone to buy what you're selling - include a photo. If you like to waste everyone's time then don't!
MadMax1996 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 06:55 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
1/8 IC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North America & Europe
Posts: 3,122
Trader Rating: 58 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by flat6 View Post
I simply skip over the ads without pics... if they have no pics or horribly blurry pics, that is an immediate red flag. The people who don't take the time to post pics I've found often don't take the time to properly care for/maintain their vehicles.
+100, this is the truth, they want to sell a vehicle but dont post pics, then they get mad when it doesnt sell, lol. Or they ask to email for pics or text... if you can email or text, then you can easily post a pic on rctech. Its not Rocket Science... And yes mostly the ones that dont post pics have the dirtiest most worn out cars, and i dont care if they say the keep it imaculate, i dont bother with such adds...

And if the rules state you have to post a price, why not state you have to post a pic???
GundamWZero likes this.
1/8 IC Fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 06:56 AM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,547
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I've gotten some great deals from guys that didn't post a pic. Some guys just don't have the computer knowledge to do so. Sometimes a phone call and conversation goes a lot farther than pics and emails do... Sometimes

I've found if its a younger person that doesn't post pictures they are either lazy or are selling junk, but sometimes its just a middle aged guy that isn't computer savy, or would just rather speak to someone than through email or PM
GroffBall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 06:57 AM
  #14  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (32)
 
xrocket21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 225
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by caseyb View Post
No. Why? Skip it if it doesn't, what's the big? Ban "lazy" or pic challenged peeps?
Yes it's nice to see a pic, but I'll bet you guys are just bored/looking. If I am looking to actually buy something, I'm not too lazy to ask for a pic. Sellers can expect more serious inquires, instead of tire kickers.
my .02(and I have listing w/o pics;/
It helps keep people honest, clear up confusion, helps to limit fraud.

its win win
xrocket21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 07:03 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I dont like giving out my number much less to get a pic that should be posted. i mean it doesnt make sense to have to send pics to everyone that asks when u can just post it once.

only reason i may go to a PM to ask for pics is to ask for more or specific pics of a product before i ask for the paypal account to send the money for it. just post a pic, admins should make it mandatory
phatboislim is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service