Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography
Custom-mixed airbrush paints & avoiding waste >

Custom-mixed airbrush paints & avoiding waste

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Custom-mixed airbrush paints & avoiding waste

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2013, 01:13 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Custom-mixed airbrush paints & avoiding waste

Guys, I'm relatively new to airbrushing and have a question about how much paint, at least a good estimate, is used when painting a typical RC body; your expertise would certainly help reduce the guess-work.

I'm going to be doing some custom paint-mixing with FasKolor paints. It would be very helpful to have some guidelines on how much paint to mix so as not to waste paint and throw it out; because once mixed, you can't put it back into the original bottles.

I've read that good results with FasKolor paints are when it's mixed with 60 to 65 percent paint to 35 to 40 percent thinning solution. The recommended solution I read about was a mix of Windex to Isopropyl alcohol, 50/50 mix. (Not my recipe, just one I researched from an experienced painter.)

So, bearing in mind the thinning ratio and let's say 3 coats to cover a full RC body with ONE color, approximately how much of a FasKolor bottle would be needed? If I had a good idea about that, it would be a tad easier to know how much paint to mix in a mixing bottle to paint a full body, half body, etc.

Feel free to discuss the "recipe" I researched above and add any tips related to avoiding paint waste. Thank you!
Old 04-22-2013, 01:49 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)

you can get empty bottles at Michael's, hobby lobby, etc. for like 50 cents. Use those to store the custom mixes in
Old 04-22-2013, 02:04 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)