R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Old 04-29-2004, 05:40 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Send a message via AIM to derrick
Default flooding problem

Hey, I'm new to Nitro cars, and i am still in the break in procedure of my first car. I fowled out a glow plug so the next day i got a new one, but when i try to start it, it floods. i was kinda tweakin around with the tuning before i realized my glow plug was dead and i think i might have set something wrong. I reset the low end screw to 2 3/4 turns out, and i keep changing the idle to find a place it will start but no luck. Sometimes i make it a little richer to see if it helps but nothing yet. I really need help on this. Thnx in advance.
derrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 05:47 PM   #2
Tech Addict

I don't know but 2 3/4 turns out?? Depends on the motor but I thought it should be about 4 1/2 turns out from fully closed. Maybe I'm wrong.
Nitropimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 06:03 PM   #3
Tech Rookie

It is a NTC3, and as i recall the directions on it say 2 1/2, but for breaking in purposes you turn it another 1/4.
Old 04-29-2004, 06:29 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic

Quote:
Originally posted by Nitropimp
I don't know but 2 3/4 turns out?? Depends on the motor but I thought it should be about 4 1/2 turns out from fully closed. Maybe I'm wrong.
You are thinking about the High Speed Needle. It would normally be set around 4 1/2 - 5 1/2 turns out for breakin. Low Speed Needle would normally be between 2 3/4 and 3 1/4 out. Like you say, it would depend on the engine.
teammpp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 06:52 PM   #5
Tech Rookie

is the highspeed needle located right where the fuel line connects to the carb, or is that the low speed?
Old 04-29-2004, 07:27 PM   #6
Tech Rookie

it says 2 1/2 turns for high speed
Attached Images
File Type: png n.png (154.7 KB, 72 views)
Old 04-30-2004, 08:17 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic