R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-29-2003, 04:12 PM   #1
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default 3 port or 5 port??? How to tell?

I'm trying to find out if my new Sirio 12 TRP(blue head) is 3 or 5 port. The label says its a legal "3 port ABC", but I'm finding that Sirio labels aren't quite as accurate as they should be. Especially since I seem to have a turbo plug button.

Anyway, I would like to know if any of the label is correct. I want to know if this is 3 or 5 port. What do I look for when I open it up, to know for sure what it is?

Thanks
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 04:25 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
EdwardN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,144
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: 3 port or 5 port??? How to tell?

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkseid
I'm trying to find out if my new Sirio 12 TRP(blue head) is 3 or 5 port. The label says its a legal "3 port ABC", but I'm finding that Sirio labels aren't quite as accurate as they should be. Especially since I seem to have a turbo plug button.

Anyway, I would like to know if any of the label is correct. I want to know if this is 3 or 5 port. What do I look for when I open it up, to know for sure what it is?

Thanks
Take the head botton off and count how many holes you have total inside the sleeve ( with piston in BDC). if you have 4 holes-it is 3 port engine, if you have 6-it is 5 port engine.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: Since 90% of my posts may be BS, and since my posts may be either insanely idiotic, incoherent, and/or not even close to a rational thought, please accord my posts no more than 10% of credibility.
EdwardN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 04:38 PM   #3
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Well I have 6 holes all on the same level and 2 mini holes up above that. Looks like the label was completely and totally WRONG

Now I have to pull this thing out of my car and figure out who the hell to send it back to, the place I ordered from or to Trinity since they're the Sirio distributor. Man, I'm not looking forward to this!

Thanks for the quick answer Top Gun 777
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 04:53 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
EdwardN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,144
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Darkseid
Well I have 6 holes all on the same level and 2 mini holes up above that. Looks like the label was completely and totally WRONG

Now I have to pull this thing out of my car and figure out who the hell to send it back to, the place I ordered from or to Trinity since they're the Sirio distributor. Man, I'm not looking forward to this!

Thanks for the quick answer Top Gun 777
Hey, you got lucky, for the price of 3 port you got 5 port engine.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: Since 90% of my posts may be BS, and since my posts may be either insanely idiotic, incoherent, and/or not even close to a rational thought, please accord my posts no more than 10% of credibility.
EdwardN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 06:25 PM   #5
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, but I wanted a legal 3 port!

Anyways, I got in contact with the shop I ordered from and they were happy to exchange if for the engine I wanted in the first place.

In the return package, I told them to fell free to look inside the Sirio box to make sure it is actually a non-turbo engine. Just a quick check of the glow plug port should insure that I get the right engine this time.

Should have my new.......new engine in a couple of days.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novarossi 21+5, 21BF 3-port, & GO Tech .21 7-port Turbo!!! $110 shipped!! HoustonAreaRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 08-05-2008 10:30 AM
Go 3 port race, Go 6 port .25, Go Femca 0801 pipe! Come get it! slaytanic R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 07-01-2008 10:05 PM
F/S 5 port gotech and a extra 5 port piston and sleeve cheesecake R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 07-01-2008 09:44 AM
Need advice on 3 port or 5 port .12 nitro engine. IGY Nitro On-Road 5 10-17-2006 08:58 PM
Is a '4 port' sleeve in a normally 3 port .12 CV Race legal? jamiekulhanek Electric Off-Road 8 09-14-2004 07:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:18 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net