Like Tree1Likes

"the tuning bible"

Reply

Old 11-29-2012, 02:51 AM
  #271  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 69
Default

On my plane engines the throttle opening vs rpm is not linear:

Half open throttle = approx. 8500 RPM
Fully open throttle = approx. 12400 RPM

It is not the same type of carburators, but the function is the same.

For more information click here.
sid8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:04 PM
  #272  
Tech Initiate
 
turbo5513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 30
Default

WOW! this will be very useful! Thanks for posting this!
turbo5513 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:10 PM
  #273  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 27
Default

Very informative, thanks!
ferrariGTR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 04:49 PM
  #274  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
sykemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: evans georgia
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey dudes, will these instructions work on a o.s. max .18 engine? Does novarossi make a engine that could replace the losi 3.4 engine. I'm in desperate need of a real engine. I used this o.s.max .18 and i'm really disappointed. Maybe a jb concepts has a engine thats compatable of the losi 3.4 junk. Thank you very much for your time. Pleaese reply.
sykemike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:25 PM
  #275  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,533
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sykemike View Post
Hey dudes, will these instructions work on a o.s. max .18 engine? Does novarossi make a engine that could replace the losi 3.4 engine. I'm in desperate need of a real engine. I used this o.s.max .18 and i'm really disappointed. Maybe a jb concepts has a engine thats compatable of the losi 3.4 junk. Thank you very much for your time. Pleaese reply.
Basic concept is same with any engine. There's slight difference among engines and brands of course. Unless you're a dork and picky like sid8 above, you should find this article very very informative cuz this made a heck of a improvement for me. Good luck,
snuvet75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 11:41 PM
  #276  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Just a quick opinion needed. My engine runs great idles for days, but after coming to a stop the idle will raise and stay there. Car doesn't load up, blows enough smoke and temps are reasonable. I noticed it will also run on just a touch on decel. Bottom end too lean? Idle too high?
B00t13g is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 12:08 AM
  #277  
Tech Master
 
Lille-bror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Frederikshavn, Denmark
Posts: 1,792
Default

Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
Just a quick opinion needed. My engine runs great idles for days, but after coming to a stop the idle will raise and stay there. Car doesn't load up, blows enough smoke and temps are reasonable. I noticed it will also run on just a touch on decel. Bottom end too lean? Idle too high?
What engine is it?
Lille-bror is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 07:43 AM
  #278  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Lille-bror View Post
What engine is it?
Fx royal 5
B00t13g is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 01:02 PM
  #279  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Chickentrader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Landsborough, Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 2,142
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
Just a quick opinion needed. My engine runs great idles for days, but after coming to a stop the idle will raise and stay there. Car doesn't load up, blows enough smoke and temps are reasonable. I noticed it will also run on just a touch on decel. Bottom end too lean? Idle too high?
It could just be because the engine comes in hotter after a run, and not necessary that itís not tuned right. You would just have to give it little bit of throttle before runs in that case, if you turn idling speed down to right when itís hot. Engines can be finicky at times; particularly high power engines, and two engines that are the same can act differently at times.

Kindest regards,
Lars.
Chickentrader is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 10:36 PM
  #280  
Tech Master
 
Lille-bror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Frederikshavn, Denmark
Posts: 1,792
Default

Those FX engines should run very smooth. My first thought was you are a little lean on the bottom. Otherwise the hsn can mess up the idle. If its a little too rich, you can have this problem on some engines because there is too much fuel in the case until the idle cleans the leftovers out. On the other side a too lean hsn sometimes can make the idle drop too low right after a high speed pass, because there is no more fuel left in the crank case.
Lille-bror is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:32 AM
  #281  
Tech Rookie
 
Nitro RC ZEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Default Nitro Car Factory Settings?

Hi Guyz, Im New to this Forum, i was wondering if anyone knew what the factory settings for a HSP 1/10 Touring Car?

Thanks
Nitro RC ZEE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 02:24 PM
  #282  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,533
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nitro RC ZEE View Post
Hi Guyz, Im New to this Forum, i was wondering if anyone knew what the factory settings for a HSP 1/10 Touring Car?

Thanks
You're on the wrong thread. This thread is for engine/carburetor setting. Go to nitro car thread or ask the company directly. You seem to have gotten the RTR car and I doubt anybody have the set up here. I think you'd be better off talking to company.
snuvet75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:35 PM
  #283  
Tech Elite
 
blis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,456
Default

Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
Just a quick opinion needed. My engine runs great idles for days, but after coming to a stop the idle will raise and stay there. Car doesn't load up, blows enough smoke and temps are reasonable. I noticed it will also run on just a touch on decel. Bottom end too lean? Idle too high?
it's called a FAUX or False Idle.

Your idle gap is too large and your bottom too rich. This compensates for the high idle by richening up at idle. When you clear the crank of fuel in the straights, that's when yur true idle is in effect.

Lean the bottom needle and then drop the idle when you hear the rpm start to rise.
blis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 05:15 PM
  #284  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,533
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Originally Posted by blis View Post
it's called a FAUX or False Idle.

Your idle gap is too large and your bottom too rich. This compensates for the high idle by richening up at idle. When you clear the crank of fuel in the straights, that's when yur true idle is in effect.

Lean the bottom needle and then drop the idle when you hear the rpm start to rise.
So this FAUX is caused by too much idle gap? My engine has the same phenomenon. It revs up when I stop the car. After several seconds, the idle dwindles down again. Temp and high speed are fine. But my idle gap is almost none.
Another problem with my engine: it just can't keep idling and it dies if I don't rev up continuously. I know lots of guys have this problem but just wanted to ask you.
snuvet75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 03:20 PM
  #285  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
snuvet75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,533
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

My car has very inconsistent shifting. Sometimes it doesn't shift, sometimes it shifts way too early. Sometimes, it stutters to shift. Things look ok in clutch system and I got a new 2nd gear shoe. I checked the one way many times and cleaned it. Drive train is all fine. What else should I check?
snuvet75 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service