help me pick a engine

Reply

Old 12-24-2007, 10:05 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (98)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,920
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default help me pick a engine

i want to use an os engine in my touring car and will run under roar rules. can you guys help me pick which one?

OSMG2031 OS Speed Tuned 12TZ Spec II
http://www.osengines.com/engines/osmg2031.html

OSMG1999 EB mod. 12TZ 3-Port
http://www.osengines.com/engines/osmg1999.html

OSMG1997 12TZ(P)-T 3-Port
http://www.osengines.com/engines/osmg1995.html
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 10:11 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
V for Victory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Pasadena CA.
Posts: 644
Default

The spec 2 is definately the fastest out of the 3. I like the motor alot!
V for Victory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 12:47 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
Osiris 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Converse, TX
Posts: 831
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by V for Victory View Post
The spec 2 is definately the fastest out of the 3. I like the motor alot!
Osiris 75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 01:27 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
chippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NSW OZ
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Smile

Yes I just got the spec11AL
For Xmas
Hope its as quick as my ZACS tuned OS it was a weapon
chippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 02:04 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (98)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,920
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

does anyone have dyno graphs of these engines? you guys are saying the spec II is faster but the eb mod. .12 puts out more power (so it says).
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 02:10 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
chippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NSW OZ
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Donít know about specs
But a guy had a TZ5 eb mods and my TZ3 spec I was faster all round
more punch more top end
chippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 04:13 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,781
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I'm the proud owner of a Spec II

The motor is very fast, easy to tune and represents the lastest from OS designers.
madjack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 07:41 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (98)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,920
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

ok so everyone likes the spec II, now how does it compare to the italian engines out there? sirio, rossi, etc... which engine is top dog on the track?

everyone please bare with me as i'm transforming from a basher into a real racer. (ntc3 with a .18 tz to a 720 with a legal .12)
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 02:17 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
chippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NSW OZ
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
ok so everyone likes the spec II, now how does it compare to the italian engines out there? sirio, rossi, etc... which engine is top dog on the track?

everyone please bare with me as i'm transforming from a basher into a real racer. (ntc3 with a .18 tz to a 720 with a legal .12)
If money is no object go JP ,Max Power or Novarossi
But the cheaper engines are not far behind these JL ,OS performance wise

For club racing I use a standard TZ3 with a 5port crank in it works great
chippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 02:20 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (98)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,920
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chippy View Post
If money is no object go JP ,Max Power or Novarossi
But the cheaper engines are not far behind these JL ,OS performance wise

For club racing I use a standard TZ3 with a 5port crank in it works great
you use a 5 port in a touring car?
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 02:59 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
chippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NSW OZ
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LOW ET View Post
you use a 5 port in a touring car?
A 3 port engine with a crank from a 5 port
still 3port piston liner and crank -case in a MUGEN MTX4
chippy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 03:56 PM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
tony montana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Leonardtown Md.
Posts: 6,209
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

I have the eb mods and its fast enought for me, but I would buy the speed If I was buying a new one. My next engine will probaly be a maxpower
tony montana is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 04:15 PM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default

Low ET,
buy JL the new one is very good better engine than OS, OS yes is fast but is weak easy breaking the con rod, when it comes to engine Japaneses engine weak Italian engine is the best.
E.Rocha is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 05:25 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (98)
 
LOW ET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cleveland, ohio
Posts: 2,920
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by E.Rocha View Post
Low ET,
buy JL the new one is very good better engine than OS, OS yes is fast but is weak easy breaking the con rod, when it comes to engine Japaneses engine weak Italian engine is the best.
are we talking about this engine?
http://www.ofna.com/eng-jlr-red-dot-on-road.php
LOW ET is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 05:38 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (11)
 
LogiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Posts: 757
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

I just got the JLR Evo 3 and breaking this in, holy sh**!

Its pretty rich still and its so torquey and just doesnt gaining rpm lol, just keeps on going.. Thumps up from me so far
LogiK is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service