R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road > Onroad Nitro Engine Zone

Old 06-14-2007, 08:05 AM   #1
Tech Regular

Send a message via Yahoo to va_connoisseur
Default Practice and Race motor

I am purchasing the JLR Red Dot for my race engine. I am considering getting a secondary engine for practice. Since I am a novice, I know it will take me several gallons to get my skills up, so I don't want to put all that mileage on my race engine.

1. Am I worrying needlessly or should I get like an STS or some other budget engine to practice with? Call it a budget Novarossi Special edition 359 set.

2. How do you "match" engines? I would guess the Red Dot and STS D3 have different power characteristics so how would this effect the car performance?

In short, is getting a practice engine a good idea and should it be the same engine as my race engine (I'm awake now. Coffee just kicked in)
va_connoisseur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 08:34 AM   #2
Tech Champion

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by va_connoisseur View Post
I am purchasing the JLR Red Dot for my race engine.
Very good choice.
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 08:47 AM   #3
Tech Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Kamikaze View Post
Very good choice.
Thanks. But I don't want to abuse it while I learn how to drive. 301 is a large track and I will be lapping that for a few weeks trying to learn my car and how to drive onroad nitro (I'm a convert from off-road nitro). I would like to "save" the Red Dot for the I-95 Shoot-Out. Or am I just overthinking this?

P.S. You and your crew were at 301 for the Capital Classic, right? Remind me of your paint scheme or what Main you were in on Sunday and if I have some pics I will forward them to you.
Old 06-14-2007, 09:00 AM   #4
Tech Champion

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by va_connoisseur View Post