Like Tree1Likes

6mik Optima Slr5

Old 07-23-2016, 06:28 AM
  #16  
Tech Master
 
cczjordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Malaysia, Sabah
Posts: 1,042
Default

Originally Posted by Neesh View Post
I'm using a werks #6
Orion plugs or os p3
cczjordan is offline  
Old 07-24-2016, 10:30 AM
  #17  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
22Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wanamingo Mn
Posts: 3,150
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cczjordan View Post
Orion plugs or os p3
I think a P3 would be a little too hot for the stock shimming this engine comes with. By adding a shim it would work fine. Some guys locally are having trouble with a consistent tune on there Orion's. I think the Orion engines and this Optima come with a little too tight of piston to head clearance depending on elevation etc.
Shannon I added a shim to yours.

Rex
22Racer is offline  
Old 07-24-2016, 12:55 PM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (127)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Aloha state
Posts: 3,243
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default

Cool, I was gonna try a #5 or even a p3 after the break in I did. Unfortunately our track is closed this week due to Tropical storm Darby.
Neesh is offline  
Old 07-24-2016, 03:23 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Warsaw Indiana
Posts: 2,301
Trader Rating: 58 (94%+)
Default

I put a #5 in mine only idled 1 tank so far. Rex should i add a copper shim also?
tcb22185 is online now  
Old 07-24-2016, 05:50 PM
  #20  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,625
Default

I've been running Orion for a couple of months and in my opinion the engine runs much better with a P4 plug, idle is much better, and tuning is better. So I think the P4 plug is the way to go.
Eivind E is offline  
Old 07-24-2016, 08:55 PM
  #21  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
22Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wanamingo Mn
Posts: 3,150
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tcb22185 View Post
I put a #5 in mine only idled 1 tank so far. Rex should i add a copper shim also?
With a 5 it should be fine. I think you might like a shim added as it will just tune better and idle down better. A .1mm shim is all that is needed.

Rex
22Racer is offline  
Old 08-01-2016, 02:20 PM
  #22  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Warsaw Indiana
Posts: 2,301
Trader Rating: 58 (94%+)
Default

This things a rocket!
tcb22185 is online now  
Old 08-14-2016, 07:41 AM
  #23  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 65
Default

Very good engine, at cold engine with the P4's hard to take all these hot lap but once any worries now we have to make life testing, I roll with the nozzle 6.5 and 25% Rapicon
Breizhator is offline  
Old 12-13-2016, 02:19 AM
  #24  
Tech Initiate
 
icbuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: toowoomba australia
Posts: 26
Default

Hey Rex,
Any update on the engine you have been testing?
icbuggy is offline  
Old 12-13-2016, 03:42 AM
  #25  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
Maximo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,901
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 22Racer View Post
I think a P3 would be a little too hot for the stock shimming this engine comes with. By adding a shim it would work fine. Some guys locally are having trouble with a consistent tune on there Orion's. I think the Orion engines and this Optima come with a little too tight of piston to head clearance depending on elevation etc.
Shannon I added a shim to yours.

Rex

I have a Ronnefalk Orion here and it has too many shims 0.65 mm between piston and button..OS Speed S3 has 0.37 mm.....IMO the Orion is over shimmed which is causing heat and tune issues
Maximo is offline  
Old 12-13-2016, 11:17 AM
  #26  
am
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,840
Default

How many shims are irrelevant. Distance between head and piston is not. I know you are aware of this but need to explain a bit better for the ones not so into engine as you, Max.

My engines runs best with a head clearnce of 0,6-0,7mm messured with a solderwire. Low (small number) head clarence usually gives an engine with ketchup effect, a tiny tuning window and ghost flameouts.
am is offline  
Old 12-13-2016, 11:25 AM
  #27  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (11)
 
Maximo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,901
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by am View Post
How many shims are irrelevant. Distance between head and piston is not. I know you are aware of this but need to explain a bit better for the ones not so into engine as you, Max.

My engines runs best with a head clearnce of 0,6-0,7mm messured with a solderwire. Low (small number) head clarence usually gives an engine with ketchup effect, a tiny tuning window and ghost flameouts.
solder is a horribly inaccurate way to measure head clearance... impossible to get the solder to the true outer perimeter so it will always read higher then the true clearance actually is... OS makes the most reliable best running stock engines on the market today bar non, One of the reasons is they run a tight head with under 0.4 mm between the button and the piston.
Maximo is offline  
Old 12-13-2016, 03:03 PM
  #28  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (67)
 
22Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Wanamingo Mn
Posts: 3,150
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by icbuggy View Post
Hey Rex,
Any update on the engine you have been testing?
No update, Neesh must be busy. Anyone else want to test one or have one they have already ran we can test?

Rex
22Racer is offline  
Old 12-14-2016, 02:30 AM
  #29  
Tech Initiate
 
icbuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: toowoomba australia
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks Rex,
Have 2 to run in for next years racing here in Australia.
Will work them out as I go along.
Cheers,
Colin
icbuggy is offline  
Old 12-14-2016, 01:49 PM
  #30  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (7)
 
pcook99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: sunshine coast
Posts: 93
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Questions for maximo

Originally Posted by Maximo View Post
solder is a horribly inaccurate way to measure head clearance... impossible to get the solder to the true outer perimeter so it will always read higher then the true clearance actually is... OS makes the most reliable best running stock engines on the market today bar non, One of the reasons is they run a tight head with under 0.4 mm between the button and the piston.
Hey Max,
How would you measure head clearance?

What would you recommend as an upper and lower limit for shims? eg. .2 to .4?

Did you modify the orion so that it had .65 mm of shims?
pcook99 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.