problem starting firestorm

Old 12-27-2010, 08:42 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default problem starting firestorm

Been having problems starting my truck. I got it running but only when i was pulling down on the trigger on the remote half way. As soon as i released, the truck died. Then messed around with the servo throttle arm thinking it had something to do with that. Again it worked but, it would die as soon as i lowered the speed. Any idea what could be wrong?
Zackattack is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 08:56 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I am new to this, so maybe you have already done this but have you checked the engine to make sure your idle is set properly?
SDelaney is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 09:00 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Im not sure how to do that. Is the idle screw you mess with? If so, which way do i turn it?
Zackattack is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 09:03 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

First, pull the air filter off and look into the carb hole and see if you have an opening of about 1mm (the thickness of a credit card). If not then you would turn the idle needle clockwise to open it and counter to close it down some.

Again, I am new and this may not be your problem - but it seems you aren't getting any air into the engine unless you pull the trigger.
SDelaney is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 09:14 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Okay just checked it out and it seems too open. Havent messed with it at all. Should i close it up a bit?
Zackattack is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 09:17 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Read this... I found it good (although I am still tuning myself )

http://www.rcnitrotalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=60832

It explains all the needles and gives you a flow chart to follow. It could help if engine setup is your problem.

Has it ever run?
SDelaney is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 09:36 PM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Okay got it running, went through a tank pretty fast. Dont know if i should go ahead and put more gas in it. Just seemed pretty quick. Also, right before it ran out of gas it sped up to what seemed like full throttle. Is that normal?
Zackattack is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 04:02 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Yes, when you are running out of gas you are getting more air into the mixture with leans it out so you get the engine racing.
SDelaney is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.