Wiki Posts
Search

please help newbie with fitting lrp z.15s into kyosho fw05-s

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2005, 07:15 AM
Tech Rookie

Default please help newbie with fitting lrp z.15s into kyosho fw05-s

Gday guys,

Sorry i'm kinda new to fitting engines into nitro cars, however i've done a fair bit of research and checked manuals etc.

I have a kyosho fw05-s, when trying to fit the lrp z.15s engine with the standard flywheel I can't fasten it to the crankshaft.

Now when looking at other nitro engines there seems to be grooves or some other metal piece for the flywheel to grip the crankshaft, collet pieces that sandwich the flywheel up against the 2nd gear pilot shaft and that kind of thing.

The original fw05-s flywheel just sits on the crank shaft flimsily, you can spin the flywheel without the crank shaft spinning at all. I thought that the flywheel had been fastened, but when I went for a short drive i heard the engine revs perk up and the drivetrain of the car didn't even nudge, the flywheel had slipped.

So I guess my question is has anyone fitted the lrp z.15s to a kyosho fw05 ? what clutch/flywheel setup did you guys use ? could I just jam some washers between the flywheel i have and the engine to force it up against the second gear pilot shaft ?

Thanks for any help,
Slapnuts.

PS PLEASE SEE THE ATTATCHED PICTURE FOR CLEARER DESCRIPTION
Attached Thumbnails please help newbie with fitting lrp z.15s into kyosho fw05-s-problem.jpg  
Old 05-12-2005, 08:59 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

The Collet (most of the time is GOLD in color) is the one that is the CONNECTION pieces between the flywheel and the crankshaft........go to your LHS and have them to find you 1 that will fit.......it is not 1 size fits all, but there are enough aftermarket collet out there, one of those will fit for sure............