R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2009, 01:42 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default Re: An Interesting Question about LiPo Rx Packs

It has been a long while since I have been in the 1/8 On-Road scene and I am just getting back into it again.

As I am browsing around for LiPo Rx packs (since I have the JR HV servoes), I cannot seem to find one that would work with my car. I have a LiPo pack right now, but it has a regular Deans connector on it. Is there a LiPo pack that has a tab that connects into a RX without any modifications or resoldering? I run a Spektrum SR3300T Rx.

Thanks!
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 04:15 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
quietstorm76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryN View Post
It has been a long while since I have been in the 1/8 On-Road scene and I am just getting back into it again.

As I am browsing around for LiPo Rx packs (since I have the JR HV servoes), I cannot seem to find one that would work with my car. I have a LiPo pack right now, but it has a regular Deans connector on it. Is there a LiPo pack that has a tab that connects into a RX without any modifications or resoldering? I run a Spektrum SR3300T Rx.

Thanks!
Which car?

http://www.serpentamerica.com/shop/p...&cat=25&page=1
__________________
Team Shepherd USA:Nugget's Ranch Raceway
Primary Weapon: ?
Secondary Weapon: ?
Tires>>> I don't know yet
quietstorm76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 04:32 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
garen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: GLENDALE
Posts: 1,730
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Harry, I have something for you to try out.
__________________
bpengines-usa.com fioroni-usa.com motonica-usa.com

Airtronics Avid RC Byron Fuels VOX Engines

VMR Tires - available at http://motonica.ipower.com/store
garen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 10:49 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryN View Post
It has been a long while since I have been in the 1/8 On-Road scene and I am just getting back into it again.

As I am browsing around for LiPo Rx packs (since I have the JR HV servoes), I cannot seem to find one that would work with my car. I have a LiPo pack right now, but it has a regular Deans connector on it. Is there a LiPo pack that has a tab that connects into a RX without any modifications or resoldering? I run a Spektrum SR3300T Rx.

Thanks!
Use LiFe. The Rx battery is like Lipo but output only 6.6v. Perfect for receivers.

http://www.rc-toro.com/product_info....27cc7d1743e5c2
silverM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 11:44 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
louis flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: yucaipa ca
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to louis flood
Default

and cant get hurt if drained down 2 far
__________________
powered by venom-group , atomik and evolution sports in Redlands CA paintball airsoft and R/C (909)792-9898
my rides atomik v2mr ae b44.2 tlr 8ight 2.0
louis flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 03:39 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverM3 View Post
Use LiFe. The Rx battery is like Lipo but output only 6.6v. Perfect for receivers.

http://www.rc-toro.com/product_info....27cc7d1743e5c2
This one looks good, so if I use this I don't need to use regulator anymore? Will this batt fits in Kyosho V1RRR Evo 2 and Evolva M3 Evo?
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 03:42 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by louis flood View Post
and cant get hurt if drained down 2 far
Is it? So I can use it all the way until its flat? Do I need a different charger for this? I do have balance charger for Lipo but I m not sure if it charges Life, I ll have to check my charger again.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 07:42 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
This one looks good, so if I use this I don't need to use regulator anymore? Will this batt fits in Kyosho V1RRR Evo 2 and Evolva M3 Evo?
Yep, should fit with no problem. I run one similar to this in my MRX4X. Not running a regulator is nice too, one less thing to wire up. You will need a LiFe compatible charger.
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 08:47 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Wow! Thanks all! You guys nailed it. the battery from RC Toro should fit and it has the correct tab on it too.

Garen, definitely, I wanna see what you recommend so I may try it out.

And the car I have is a Motonica P81. GREAT car! Easy to set up, easy to drive, easy to fix, great parts support. Also available at amainhobbies.com.

As far as the LiFe battery, it will not work since the JR servoes require 7.4v. Here is a link:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...D=JRPSZ9100HVS

__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 11:49 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryN View Post
Wow! Thanks all! You guys nailed it. the battery from RC Toro should fit and it has the correct tab on it too.

Garen, definitely, I wanna see what you recommend so I may try it out.

And the car I have is a Motonica P81. GREAT car! Easy to set up, easy to drive, easy to fix, great parts support. Also available at amainhobbies.com.

As far as the LiFe battery, it will not work since the JR servoes require 7.4v. Here is a link:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...D=JRPSZ9100HVS

Harry, I am not so sure I understand this. Does the receiver have to output 7.4V to this servo? Because most of the Rx I know takes an input voltage around 6-7V. Or does this servo take an additional power source?

BTW, I have couple LiFe batteries. You can just charge it as LiPo.
silverM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 02:49 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Click on the link and you will see that you will need 7.4v for this servo. Best thing is you dont need to buy a cut off since it will stop functioning if it falls to 3.8v.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 04:46 PM   #12
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I don't see anything that says it HAS to have 7.4, just that it can take it. I'm sure it would still work very well at 6.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 04:50 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

We have tried the Z9100HVS with both 6.6 volts LiFe and 5 cell nimh, and it is really slow when using any battery less than 7.4 volts, YES it needs a 2 cell Lipo inorder for it to work properly, that is what the servo is designed for, that is why it says High Voltage servo.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 08:03 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HarryN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Kamikaze View Post
We have tried the Z9100HVS with both 6.6 volts LiFe and 5 cell nimh, and it is really slow when using any battery less than 7.4 volts, YES it needs a 2 cell Lipo inorder for it to work properly, that is what the servo is designed for, that is why it says High Voltage servo.
^^THis.

I have already tried a regular 6v NiMH receiver pack and the servo was barely chugging.

It was specifically designed for 2S LiPo. LiFe, unfortunately, does not cut it.
__________________
Car(s): Team Losi 22 1/10 Buggy, Team Losi 22 1/10 Stadium Truck
Motors/Engines: SP 13.5 v1.0, SP 17.5 v3.0 x2, RevTech 7.5
Radio: Spektrum DX3R, DX3S
Cars For Sale: FG 08-530 EVO w/ Sport Brakes!
Track(s): http://www.rctrack.com
HarryN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 01:41 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Kamikaze View Post
We have tried the Z9100HVS with both 6.6 volts LiFe and 5 cell nimh, and it is really slow when using any battery less than 7.4 volts, YES it needs a 2 cell Lipo inorder for it to work properly, that is what the servo is designed for, that is why it says High Voltage servo.
So are you saying this kind of HV servos require a RX which can output 7.4v to it ? I never use HV servo before. Sorry for this dumb question.
silverM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net