R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2003, 07:13 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default OS Turbo TR

The manual says two turns out from closed. Has anyone tried this? Or is it a miss print?

Thanks guys.
paulc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 10:29 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
vones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,022
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: OS Turbo TR

Quote:
Originally posted by paulc
The manual says two turns out from closed. Has anyone tried this? Or is it a miss print?

Thanks guys.
the high end needle?..yes it's correct....during break in....if u find it difficult to run it in close it 5 mins...until u r able to run it on track....after run in..the HEN is abt 1 1/2 frm close....+/- 5 mins to keep temp ard 120 - 125 deg.C
vones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 04:49 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thanks vones. any luck with this engine?
paulc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 08:54 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Joehwee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,553
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Paul: 2 turns from closed is the default needle setting, you can start with 2 turns and lean it down when running in on the track. The TR 5 port turbo is a fast engine in small to med track. the engine like to run a little hotter to give the power, I am running mine at 130-135 deg. 7 races and the the engine still have very good compression.

Joehwee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2003, 11:06 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Joewhee, sorry about the barracuda deal. Got back into nitro instead... man its been two years since my last nitro (touring) race...gotta shake 'em cobwebs off.



PS: I think my OS TR Turbo is only has 3 ports and not 5.

Quote:
Originally posted by Joehwee
Paul: 2 turns from closed is the default needle setting, you can start with 2 turns and lean it down when running in on the track. The TR 5 port turbo is a fast engine in small to med track. the engine like to run a little hotter to give the power, I am running mine at 130-135 deg. 7 races and the the engine still have very good compression.
paulc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 02:04 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Joehwee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,553
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Paul: No problem with the fish, to be honest I still prefer my sigma. The car is fast and handle well. As for OS the 3 port cpme with normal plug, you got to change the button to turbo type to used turbo plug, only the 5 port come with turbo button cos it is an outlaw engine.
Joehwee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 04:58 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Joe: http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXCNA3&P=7 --> this is what i got. actually its a TR with an OS turbo head. But still 3 ports...i think.
paulc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2003, 07:08 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by paulc
Joe: http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXCNA3&P=7 --> this is what i got. actually its a TR with an OS turbo head. But still 3 ports...i think.

thats the 5 port model..
__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 02:29 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Fastharry: Thanks! ...so I guess I made the right choice after all. Thanks for the info!
paulc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 07:26 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
tIANcI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,737
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by paulc
Joe: http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXCNA3&P=7 --> this is what i got. actually its a TR with an OS turbo head. But still 3 ports...i think.
This is what I got from my LHS guy, we tried to tune a TRP and had nothing good out of it, then the guy tuned the TRP and it was running brilliant. What he said is

HSN - 2 turns out
LSN - 2 turns in (I will ask again how to get 2 turns IN)
Middle needle - keel it flush and then turn it in up to 2 turns.

What I noticed is that the middle needle adjustments makes a lot of difference to the TRP's output. See how that works for you.
tIANcI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 10:11 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys, I'll let you know how I do with the engine. I've already gotten two tanks through it...one ot two more of rich running wont hurt.

paulc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 11:36 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Well I'm in the Market for a New Motor ....again. Probably going with the TR. Let's see if it can hold up to the rookie torture test.Anyone blow their's up?Is there a differance between the Cranks in the Turbo 5 port and the Std. 3 port?I have leftover Turbo head button and a big Grey Cooling head Maybe I'll have a 3 port Turbo.
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 08:49 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Joehwee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,553
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

the crank on the 3 & 5 ports are the same
Joehwee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2003, 09:07 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
paulc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: APAC
Posts: 3,639
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Joe: sent you a PM.
paulc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 02:21 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Fisher890's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Redondo Beach Calif
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joehwee
the crank on the 3 & 5 ports are the same
ty Joe so basically the diff between the 2 are the 5 port sleeve, the turbo button and the cool black crankcase?
Fisher890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Competion Electonics turbo 35bl stealth ed, turbo 30, Pitbull x3 & Novak Millenium Pr pablo101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 10-27-2008 09:44 AM
Competition Electronics Turbo 35 BL stealth Edition And Turbo Flex 30 NIdaho Mudder R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 06-10-2007 07:55 AM
FS: NIB TOP .12 3port turbo motor, NIB RD Logic Turbo II exhaust rossiRocket R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 12-06-2005 10:10 AM
Wanted, metal lathe, milling machine, Turbo matcher, turbo Zapper lazarus Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 1 05-15-2003 12:20 PM
Tunning issue with MR12 turbo and RD turbo pipe PG Nitro On-Road 12 05-05-2003 10:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net