Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2004, 08:32 PM
Tech Elite

Originally posted by LAyGOmyDAyGO
Thanks DOMOisCOOL for replying.

Price Range:

Engine: $250
Transmitter: $200

I am pretty much open for any price on the other needed parts.

Thanks.
Hi, assuming you are totally new to R/C and mechanics in general I would stick with simple stuff to begin with.

A very good starting motor is an OS TR motor, a fair bit of power, but REALLY easy to tune right.

A good transmitter I feel is a Futaba 2PL which is cheap and simple, but very good quality and with enough features to begin with.

RD Logics makes some nice pipes for the OS motor, again fairly cheap.

Any sort of Protoform body is great.
Old 06-21-2004, 08:42 PM
Tech Rookie

Thanks for all of your help.

Yes, I am very new to R/C Cars. I did not know what "nitro" meant till last night. LOL

What is the biggest engine size I can fit in a R40?

Any type of fuel recommendations?

Thanks again
Old 06-21-2004, 08:55 PM
Tech Elite

Thanks for all of your help.

Yes, I am very new to R/C Cars. I did not know what "nitro" meant till last night. LOL

Any type of fuel recommendations?

Thanks again
The R40 is made for .12 sized engines and this is all I would use. There are some other larger engines that will fit, but they are generally less powerful and there is little point in my opinion.

For fuel you cant go wrong with the big brand names. O'Donnell, Trinity and the rest are all good. The important things are:

Run around 15-20% nitro to begin with. Run 12-15% oil to begin with. These %ages will make the motor run well and be easiest to tune.
Old 06-21-2004, 09:20 PM
Tech Elite

Location: Louisville, KY!.. USA!! ....Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I would definately hit HPI's web site under the "what is RC?" section....It will be a great knowledge builder......
Old 06-21-2004, 10:37 PM
Tech Master

Yes. As fastharry said, check out HPI's site. It gives excellent info on all types of R/C cars.