Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Tuning Engine *temperature

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2003, 08:35 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default Tuning Engine *temperature

I bought a venom temperature gauge last night at my local hobby shop. What engine temperature should i be running on with a ntc3 with the rtr engine .12?
How do you fine tune your car sometimes my car would run too loud but its fast like a bullet but then i see engine looks likes it too hot when i use to por the water on it it will sizzle quickly so i richened it.. in conclusion how to i set the low and high end needles im new to nitro and tuning etc. I know how the idle works and how the high end works pretty well but im kind of confused on the low end speed needle of its point of being there. As i know so far the high end needle is too affect top-end power/running and low is too affect the low end speed/running . richening it is to the left and lean to the right. richen will increase fuel/ air mixture and lean will decrease.. i just dont understand how to tune my engine correctly to its top performance. anyone have time to explain it to me thank you i will appriciate it a lot thx again
adam
Old 05-17-2003, 01:28 PM
Tech Elite

Default Tunning by t engine temp.

In my humble opinion, tunning your engines by temp is a great error, many others here can attest. Every engine is different so will run at different temperatures.

You may tune your engine by ear, hearing at the track, should sound clear and see some trailing smoke coming from the exhaust, this should be a quite healty temp for your engine.

To tune your engine for performance, firstly you may need to forget using on-board temp gauges and similar. This is what I do for tunning my engine for performance.

- As I arrive to a track, first what I do is to open main needle half turn or 3/4 of a turn, depending on the track conditions.